Spanish-Style Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2014
This was terrible. The result was a mushy, goopy mess. It had good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Marie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This recipe was Excellent with some herb lemon chicken! Def will be a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Esau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I liked this, but it was too plain as written. I added a lot more spice, and even then, I could have done more. Will make again with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
A little bland at first so I added a little more chili powder, garlic powder and some seasoning salt. Then a few drops of Mexican hot sauce, some chili peppers and and it was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I've made this several time and it's always a crowd favorite. I add a lot more seasoning than suggested, but that's a personal preference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Husband & I loved it! I left out the bell pepper though- we don't cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
My entire family liked this! A nice alternative to rice, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was a great recipe but I agree with many other reviews that it needed more of the spices. I doubled almost all the spices and I used a can of chopped tomatoes and less water to make it a bit quicker. I also served in in the green pepper. The whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelneben

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I have never had spanish rice before (I know I must have lived under a rock all these years lol) so I'm unable to say whether or not it is a great variation of that dish. However I can attest that my taste buds were thrilled with the final product and my beau who ate spanish rice growing up as a child thought it was delicious. I keep cooked quinoa in the fridge so that I can just pull it out whenever I need it for a recipe (I consume a lot of quinoa, so I prepare a fresh batch weekly) so I just used two cups from what I already had. I sauteed the onion, garlic and bell peppers in olive oil in a saucepan, added in the cooked quinoa and heated it for a few minutes, followed by 1/2 cup of vegetable broth, then I seasoned the mixture with smoked paprika, cayenne pepper, kosher salt, garlic powder and my homemade taco seasoning. After the mixture tasted like I desired I then added tomato sauce (I eyeballed it) just added enough to give it color and then I turned my heat to low and simmered for 30 minutes...it came out very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Hubby and I thought this recipe was delicious! I did change a few things though. I used a 15oz can of tomato sauce and a can filled with water instead of the recommended water and sauce. the next time I make this I will take the advice of others and double up on the spices :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States