Spanish-Style Quinoa Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2014
This recipe was Excellent with some herb lemon chicken! Def will be a family favourite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Esau

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Steinbach, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
I liked this, but it was too plain as written. I added a lot more spice, and even then, I could have done more. Will make again with some tweaking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
A little bland at first so I added a little more chili powder, garlic powder and some seasoning salt. Then a few drops of Mexican hot sauce, some chili peppers and and it was very nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
I've made this several time and it's always a crowd favorite. I add a lot more seasoning than suggested, but that's a personal preference
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Husband & I loved it! I left out the bell pepper though- we don't cared for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2014
My entire family liked this! A nice alternative to rice, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Minnesota_Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
This was a great recipe but I agree with many other reviews that it needed more of the spices. I doubled almost all the spices and I used a can of chopped tomatoes and less water to make it a bit quicker. I also served in in the green pepper. The whole family enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelneben

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Irvine, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I have never had spanish rice before (I know I must have lived under a rock all these years lol) so I'm unable to say whether or not it is a great variation of that dish. However I can attest that my taste buds were thrilled with the final product and my beau who ate spanish rice growing up as a child thought it was delicious. I keep cooked quinoa in the fridge so that I can just pull it out whenever I need it for a recipe (I consume a lot of quinoa, so I prepare a fresh batch weekly) so I just used two cups from what I already had. I sauteed the onion, garlic and bell peppers in olive oil in a saucepan, added in the cooked quinoa and heated it for a few minutes, followed by 1/2 cup of vegetable broth, then I seasoned the mixture with smoked paprika, cayenne pepper, kosher salt, garlic powder and my homemade taco seasoning. After the mixture tasted like I desired I then added tomato sauce (I eyeballed it) just added enough to give it color and then I turned my heat to low and simmered for 30 minutes...it came out very flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Hubby and I thought this recipe was delicious! I did change a few things though. I used a 15oz can of tomato sauce and a can filled with water instead of the recommended water and sauce. the next time I make this I will take the advice of others and double up on the spices :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lola

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bangor, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
I followed everyone's advice and tripled the amount of spices and reduced the amount of broth to 2 1/4 cups. And since I didn't have tomato sauce, I used Bertolli pasta sauce. Came out great with the edits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Quinoa Side Dish

A quick, simple, sensational side dish that’s out of the ordinary.

Garden Vegetables with Lemon-Scented Quinoa

Here’s a simple veggie and quinoa side that’s perfect for the holiday season.

Spicy Spanish-Style Rice

See how to make spicy Spanish-style rice, a terrific all-purpose side dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States