Spanish-Style Oxtail Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Oh my goodness! This has got to be one of the best recipes out there, by far! It's a wonderful change for this dish and is incredibly easy to follow. The only modifications I made were: Since I'm not a huge fan of bell peppers (unless roasted) so I added just a smidgen of roasted bells peppers and added lots of mushrooms--and instead of adding the carrots, salt and paprika toward the end I added them along with the wine and broth section. Also, chicken broth works just fine if you don't (or want to use) have beef broth. DON'T LET THE CHOCOLATE SCARE YOU! I made it for my husband as a Father's Day dinner surprise (he loves my traditional southern oxtail recipe), but I wanted to switch things up a bit and celebrate his Puerto Rican heritage. This did the trick! It's a fantabulous recipe that will enliven your taste buds. Kudos jetman!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mochamix

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2008
Very good! Our family really enjoyed it. Changes I made were: didnt have any chocolate on hand so I left it out, and I baked it covered in the oven at 325 for three hours. I thickened up the liquid at the end with a bit of corn starch. Turned out perfectly tender. Only problem I had was the price of the meat. It was 5 dollars a pound- for goodness sake it is only a cows tail! I will definately make this again but cut down on the meat to afford it. Thank you for this great recepie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2009
Incredibly rich. I oxtail and have been trying to find a good recipe for a while. I loved this one. I made a few changes. I used half oxtail and half stew meat (total of about 1.5 lbs of both, with no changes to other amounts), since I was cooking for several, and wasn't sure how everyone felt about oxtail. I also added in potato with the carrot. I'll probably use less meat the next time I do this, since the broth ended up reducing a little more than I expected it to. Planning on adding water to the leftovers and restewing. Thanks again for the great receipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by melissa.507
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2009
This city slicker turned country girl, I have never had oxtails. This recipe is very simple to make and folllow. I made a few changes.I didn't sautee all the veggies after the meat I just simply and everything to my crock pot. I also did not have chocolate so I used unsweeted cocoa powder, 3 Tbls to be exact. I left out the peppers(I didn't have any) and added mushrooms.This dish is so delis and unique.I served mine with whipped potates on top!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2009
This is a fantastic beef stew. I like meat, and frequently find that oxtail doesn't provide enough meat for me...so I substitute with 1kg of osso bucco, which was absolutely awesome. During the last hour, I added 1 cup of barley, and a large sweet potato instead of the the two carrots. I also added a couple of tablespoons of corn flour to thicken up the broth. The results were stunning, it's the best stew of this type I've ever had I think. Will make again and again, and ensure I have cheaper white wine on hand next time (takes a whole bottle!). Was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Fantastic. Used white zinfandel (2 buck chuck variety) and smoked paprika. Cooked on stovetop in French oven and transferred to 325 deg oven for 3 hours. Magnifique. Will do again and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2008
Wow! Seriously rich! Wonderful, but a bit too rich even for me. To curb the rich taste I threw in chopped celery with the carrots and some chopped cilantro/coriander, bashed up coriander seeds and squeezed half a lemon's worth of juice on top of watering it way down. It didn't change the flavour but lightened it up a bit. Very easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Georgeanne Louise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
Wow! Didn't expect this super result from such a simple recipe. The only changes I made were: to put garlic in the olive oil to brown the oxtail, and more garlic for the onions afterwards. I also added the paprika at the time I put the wine and beef broth in to start the simmering process. I threw in a bit of saffron too. And I added lots of mushrooms during the last 20 minutes of simmering, after the carrots were almost done. The flavor of this dish is suprisingly interesting and exotic. Thanks for finding and sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2011
Excellent. I had never tried oxtail before and was amazed how rich and beefy this is. I subbed Vermouth for the wine, smoked paprika for the regular and also added extra stew meat. Next time I will either omit the olive oil or make it the day before and chill it so I can get all the grease. This is an outstanding recipe, thank you so much for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
This is my go-to for oxtail. I have made it as written a number of of times, but recently started using mole paste (2-4 tsp to taste) instead of the chocolate. This makes for an extra decadent stew. Last time my toddler was asking for "brown soup" for weeks after it was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Irish Stew

This simple lamb stew is too good to eat just once a year.

Chef John's Irish Pork Stew

Now here’s what we should be eating for St. Patrick’s Day!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States