Spanish-Style Chicken Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
I made this for dinner and it was lovely! Very good and easy to make. I cut the red pepper in half, used audollie sausage, increased the carrots and potatoes and topped with fresh chopped parsley and sliced almonds. I so served over brown rice. My family LOVED it! Don' t omit the smoked paprika. It really adds exactly what you need and increases the complexity. Make sure to used smoked and not regular paprika. Cheers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This was delicious, but I added my own twist. I only used 1 1/2 onions, added an extra carrot, left out the chorizo, and used chicken breast cut up into chunks. I browned the chicken before putting it in the stew. The key difference was that I added 1 tbsp balsamic vinegar, 1 tsp white wine vinegar, 1/4 cup red wine, and let it simmer for a little over an hour. Some of the reviewers said it was flavorless, but mine was anything but with these additions. Will definitely cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Rating three as written although this recipe has a lot of potential but some real problems re lack of instructions especially whether or not to drain the tomatoes and beans; also would chunks of carrots cook completely by simmering for twenty-five minutes? I knew in advance that I would alter to cut fat just for my own dietary requirements. Here are the ingredients I changed: 1 medium/large red onion (thot using three onions for four servings was a bit excessive...personal preference); 2 cups petite carrots; 2 15 oz cans whole tomatoes, broken, juice reserved; 1 can garbanzo, drained and rinsed; 4 chicken thighs, skin removed; Hillshire Farms Turkey Pepper Jack Smoked Sausage; Cajun seasoning (sub for red pepperflakes); no potato (served over rice). Add water to the reserved tomato juice to make two cups and sub for water. Here is the method: saute onions and carrots with spices. Add garlic. Add tomatoes, beans, tomato juice. Add chicken on top; cook until chicken is done. Remove chicken; add sausage; debone chicken; add chicken back to pan. What I would do differently next time: definitely season the chicken and brown the chicken in the pan with the onions and carrots. The chicken had no flavor even cooking in the tomato/vegetable mixture. May also try not using the tomato juice and using two cups chicken broth. Despite all the changes, I liked this combination of ingredients and flavors and will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Thisni Caza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hamilton, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
Used chicken broth and put it all in my slow cooker and cooked all day about 8 hrs. yummy tender :-) :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Herring Camacho
Home Town: Devine, Texas, USA
Living In: Fremont, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by njmom
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
this was very good. had everything on hand, but used leftover turkey meat instead of chicken. therefore the cooking method was slighly different. also, i used chicken broth instead of water. spicy! and we like it like that! thanks for the post BettyBoothroyd!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by njmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
This stew is absolutely amazing! Served over white rice, with a glass of red wine you'd think your at a 5 star restaurant - when really your in the comfort of your own home! First off, I added way more garlic than suggested (clearly I'm Garlic's biggest fan). Secondly, depending on your serving amount I would substitute a cup of water for a cup of chicken broth. OR you can also use the entire suggested amount of water and add a Bouillon cube of chicken broth(which ever rocks your boat). And if you like spicy food DO add the red pepper flakes in ADDITION to a dab of Cayenne Pepper. I promise, you will have yourself, family, and friends yearning for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This recipe was really good except the gravy was thin. After reading the reviews, I too altered the recipe using 1 onion instead of 3, chicken broth instead of water and for extra zip, I used Rotelle instead of plum tomoatoes. I also served this dish with white rice, yummy!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2012
I have to admit, I had doubts that carrots, red onions and chickpeas would work together. I used only 1.5 red onions because they were big, and used broth instead of water (I ended up adding a little more than 2 cups). I left out the chicken and used about 10 ounces of sausage. Fantastic. We thought the chickpeas were a little hard, but we're looking forward to the leftovers to see if they soften overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2011
Great recipe - added a little datil pepper sauce and doubled chicken and chorizo, but otherwise followed as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
It was an ok dish, but it was missing the essence of what would make it worthy to be called SPANISH stewed chicken. The flavors were not there. It was not worth the work. Next time I will save myself the time and just make baked chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow-Cooker Pantry Chicken Stew

See how to make a super-simple chicken stew with carrots, peas, and mushrooms.

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Potato Chicken Stew

See how to make a chicken stew loaded with mixed veggies, herbs, and spices.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States