Spanish Rice Original Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
This recipe is close, but adding sofrito to recipe will make it better and closer to spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
This has great flavor. I used a cup of diced tomatoes and juice instead of tomato sauce. I left off the bell pepper and corn. (only b/c this was a last minute throw together and I did not have it on hand). Tasted wonderful. I had to add a little more chicken broth. I think this is b/c of the pot I used. Wonderful taste! I will make again for sure!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Erika D. Melrose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mesquite, Texas, USA
Living In: Frisco, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
Very yummy rice. I will make it again, I want to try roasted tomatoes in the mix and see what that will do for this already delicious side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amarillo, Texas, USA
Living In: Lebanon, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
great recipe, We had mexican food for christmas at my dad's and I followed directions for the most part and was a yummy spanish rice!!!!! Bravo
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jsmith72
Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2010
I have had better, but this is a tasty dish. I didn't add the green peppers, but I followed the rest of the recipe to the T...and it was good. I did add 3/4 cup of water towards the end and ended up with mushy rice. I will try this one again and see if I can get it more fluffy next time...any suggestions besides omitting the extra water?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsmith72

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyler, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
EXCELLENT! I've made this a couple of times already (sometimes leaving out the corn) & am never let down! My dinner guests loved it as well! Definitely a keeper! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
Best Spanish Rice dish I have made. I was heavy-handed with the chili powder and I did have to add more chicken broth toward the end of cooking (I believe that has more to do with my pot than the fault of the recipe). I had two Roma tomatoes, but they weren't that good being out of season. Next time I'll just use canned, diced tomatoes. I like things hot and spicy, but it's good a side dish like this is more neutral to show off the main element. If I was making this as a main dish I would add hot peppers and/or hot sauce. My new favorite Spanish Rice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cjucoder

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
best spanish rice i've ever made! Loved the bacon element. I made a couple changes to suit my tastes. I only used 2 slices of bacon and drained most of the grease off for health reasons. It still had a really good smokey flavor that made the dish. The bacon makes the dish!I also added 1 can chopped green chilis instead of green bell peppers. I did not use the optional ingredients. Will be my go to recipe for spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pekin, Illinois, USA
Living In: Minooka, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
This was ok. It tasted more like pasta in a tomato sauce...not at all like the spanish rice I was expecting. I will keep looking. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
Best I have ever made! I even used instant rice and it still turned out great! Just the right amount of kick and the texture is fabulous and everything is better with bacon, right? The second time I made it, I added 1 lb. of cooked ground beef and came up with an easy one-pan main dish meal. Serve it with corn cakes or warm tortillas. NOM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States