Spanish Rice Original Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was so stinkin good! I didn't use bacon because I didn't want the fat and I'm not a big bacon fan. It was just like the spanish rice at restaurants! I also added peas and carrtos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
i read the reviews, hence made some changes, so my spanish rice turned out great! i subbed out v-8 juice instead of tomato sauce to avoid the too-tomatoey taste and used 4 slices of bacon to avoid overpowering it as some reviewers mentioned. i also used blanched poblano peppers instead of bell peppers to give it more kick and added some fresh cilantro and cumin which added to the flavor as well. this was a 5 with the modifactions so i am only rating this as written a 4. thanks everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Let's see, this one was a fun recipe. I used brown rice instead of white due to dietary restrictions. I also omitted the olives, too salty, used a cup of frozen corn instead of the canned (also less sodium)and used 1/2 t Cumin for a bit of smoky flavor. I think my guests are still licking out the pot I cooked it in!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Excellent!! Didn't think hubby would like it with all the chunky stuff in it but he did!!! Wow...impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Made with corn but no olive. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2009
YUM. Used only 1 onion and one green pepper. You will need more than one cup of stock. The bacon is very important here - unless you can find liquid smoke (for the vegans). Also, you may want to add some spice if you like it hot. Maybe cayenne in addition to the chili powder. It had great flavor, but no heat - if that's what you are into.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I tryed this and decided that I liked my moms better. This is very close to my mom's recipe with a few verations. First my mom does not use chic stock, corn, or olives. She cooks bacon in large cast iron skillet. leaves all grease in it and adds onions, grn peppers, fresh minced garlic, and rice to skillet and cooks for about 7-10 minutes. then she puts in two cans of tomotoes, crushed slightly by hand, and juice also and a little water to just cover rice good. brings to a boil, reduces heat to med-low and put lid on for 10 mins. She adds a bit of water as needed and finishes rice without the lid. The rice is fluffy and moist, having absorbed liquids. You do not want to have this too wet. bacon is broken up and mixed in. My mom serves this with fried chicken,and refried beans with melted cheese. Yummy! But I also serve this with shreded pork/or chicken tacos, anything that is mexican!My moms version came from a friend that grew up in Spain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
I am not a big fan of rice but this was spectacular. Not too spicy yet very flavorful. I used Jasmine rice instead of white rice and it turned out fantastic. I didn't cut down the prtions tho and for 2 it was way too much. Will need to do tht next time I make this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: The Dalles, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Just made this tonight. It was very good! Left out bell pepper, corn and olives (didn't have any). Next time I will try the recipe with all of the ingredients. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Maria, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
Made this last night. It was the best spanish rice I've ever made. I didn't even use tomatoes or green bell peppers. I only had tomatoes & green chili's in a can and it still tasted great. This is my new spanish rice recipe. Very versatile. It can be changed to your own specifications. But DO use chicken broth and bacon. It makes the flavor in this dish authentic tasting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: El Paso, Texas, USA
Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 203) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States