Spanish Rice Original Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2009
A great homemade spanish rice. Since my honey doesn't like pepper or diced tomatoes, I couldn't add either. It still came out great. I can't wait to make again when he isn't here, so I can add everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Roswell, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Pasadena, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Everyone liked it and asked for the recipe. Add a little tobasco next time for more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This is great. Make sure to use quality chicken stock (not broth). My son, who only eats plain white rice, declared this his favorite. I served it with my homemade enchiladas and our guest just raved!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acejarvis

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Parma, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
This was a really good recipe. I used one yellow and one red bell pepper instead of the green pepper. I also had to add another 1/2 cup of chicken broth after 30 minutes of cooking the rice to finish cooking the rice. I used 1, 15 oz can od diced tomatoes that I drained because I didn't have any fresh tomatoes in the house. My almost 2 year old daughter loved it as well. Next time I might cook up some chicken breast and add it for a complete meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
wow -- what a great recipe! I used up some mushrooms I had in the fridge instead of the olives and corn, and it was fabulous! thanks -- definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This dish is FABULOUS!!!! My only adjustment was I used red bell pepper instead of green because I don't like green. I also leave out the olives. Other than that the recipe is great just the way it is. To make it a complete meal I add in some hot sausage that I cook up in another pan and add it in at the end. I have made this rice several times and my husband and family just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I sauteed the vegetables in bacon grease, I didn't use bacon because I planned using kielbasa in the rice. I also added a tbsp. of fresh lime juice. Other than that, I made no other changes. This turned out okay. Same as the boxed stuff, pretty much. I served it with Mexican Salad and Honey Cornbread, also from this site. I garnished it with shredded cheese and sour cream. Just as easy as making the boxed stuff. I think it would have been better with more heat behind it. My kids and I didn't like this at all but my husband ate two large servings. I might make this again but I'd add more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This recipe is really good! I am not a huge fan of rice, but I love this recipe. I always make it to go with enchiladas. Maybe the bacon helps. =) I do have problems with the liquid cooking out, which is why I did 4 stars. After making this a few times, here are the revisions I make: I use petite diced tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes, especially if they are out of season, and this adds a bit more liquid to the rice. I also use a full can of broth, instead of 1 cup. When I make these changes, I do not have to worry about the rice cooking dry before it is finished. Before, the rice would be just under done, even after adding more liquid it would take a long time to cook. Now, I can leave it, and know that it will be done just right, and not be dry. I do not do the green peppers or olives, but the corn I find adds a good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was my first time making "authentic" Spanish rice- it's usually out of the box. I made a vegetarian version- I used vegetable stock and omitted the bacon. It turned out very nice, but needed some salt and I threw in some hot sauce to spice it up a bit. Also, because I didn't have bell pepper, I added peas. Turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Era

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was so stinkin good! I didn't use bacon because I didn't want the fat and I'm not a big bacon fan. It was just like the spanish rice at restaurants! I also added peas and carrtos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States