Spanish Rice Original Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
wow -- what a great recipe! I used up some mushrooms I had in the fridge instead of the olives and corn, and it was fabulous! thanks -- definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2009
This dish is FABULOUS!!!! My only adjustment was I used red bell pepper instead of green because I don't like green. I also leave out the olives. Other than that the recipe is great just the way it is. To make it a complete meal I add in some hot sausage that I cook up in another pan and add it in at the end. I have made this rice several times and my husband and family just love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
I sauteed the vegetables in bacon grease, I didn't use bacon because I planned using kielbasa in the rice. I also added a tbsp. of fresh lime juice. Other than that, I made no other changes. This turned out okay. Same as the boxed stuff, pretty much. I served it with Mexican Salad and Honey Cornbread, also from this site. I garnished it with shredded cheese and sour cream. Just as easy as making the boxed stuff. I think it would have been better with more heat behind it. My kids and I didn't like this at all but my husband ate two large servings. I might make this again but I'd add more heat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
This recipe is really good! I am not a huge fan of rice, but I love this recipe. I always make it to go with enchiladas. Maybe the bacon helps. =) I do have problems with the liquid cooking out, which is why I did 4 stars. After making this a few times, here are the revisions I make: I use petite diced tomatoes instead of fresh tomatoes, especially if they are out of season, and this adds a bit more liquid to the rice. I also use a full can of broth, instead of 1 cup. When I make these changes, I do not have to worry about the rice cooking dry before it is finished. Before, the rice would be just under done, even after adding more liquid it would take a long time to cook. Now, I can leave it, and know that it will be done just right, and not be dry. I do not do the green peppers or olives, but the corn I find adds a good texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was my first time making "authentic" Spanish rice- it's usually out of the box. I made a vegetarian version- I used vegetable stock and omitted the bacon. It turned out very nice, but needed some salt and I threw in some hot sauce to spice it up a bit. Also, because I didn't have bell pepper, I added peas. Turned out good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Era

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
This was so stinkin good! I didn't use bacon because I didn't want the fat and I'm not a big bacon fan. It was just like the spanish rice at restaurants! I also added peas and carrtos!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Patterson, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
i read the reviews, hence made some changes, so my spanish rice turned out great! i subbed out v-8 juice instead of tomato sauce to avoid the too-tomatoey taste and used 4 slices of bacon to avoid overpowering it as some reviewers mentioned. i also used blanched poblano peppers instead of bell peppers to give it more kick and added some fresh cilantro and cumin which added to the flavor as well. this was a 5 with the modifactions so i am only rating this as written a 4. thanks everyone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockville Centre, New York, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Let's see, this one was a fun recipe. I used brown rice instead of white due to dietary restrictions. I also omitted the olives, too salty, used a cup of frozen corn instead of the canned (also less sodium)and used 1/2 t Cumin for a bit of smoky flavor. I think my guests are still licking out the pot I cooked it in!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kirkland, Washington, USA
Living In: Orange, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2009
Excellent!! Didn't think hubby would like it with all the chunky stuff in it but he did!!! Wow...impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Made with corn but no olive. So good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States