Spanish Rice Original Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2009
i used brown rice but found this recipe a little bland. will spice it up or keep looking for something to serve with the fajitas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luckyjellybean

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2009
Great recipe. I made a few changes due to a recent health kick: Skipped the bacon; put a little liquid smoke in w/ the olive oil I used to saute the onion. (worked well, think it added the smokey flavor that a recent rater said it needed). Used El Pato Jalapeno sauce instead of tomato for extra spice (Muey Bueno!). Used veg stock instead of chicken for less sodium and ommitted salt all together. Used 1 bell pep and 3 whole chiles. The big one was the QUINOA sub for the rice. Was a bit worried but turned out great. I have substituted quinoa in all my rice recipes and it is yet to let me down. Just monitor the moisture content as it simmers... Overall this was a very easy and versatile recipe with a good pay off
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kory197

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Redding, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2009
I didn't have chili powder so I used cayanne pepper. It was delish and got great review from picky eater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Scotdog
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
This was very good. I didn't use olives (don't like them) or the corn, but everyone really liked it. I also chop the green pepper up really finely in my food processor so kids don't know it's in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Scotdog

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Very nice flavor. I overfried my rice though so it did not get soft. Will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Wow! What a delicious dish! I didn't change anything about the recipe. It passed the "kid test" but not by a majority (1 of 3 enjoyed it and got 2nds) The next time I make it, I'll use less of the bacon grease. Also, to me, it seemed a slightly bit too acidic. Though that may have been due to the tomatoes (we used produce from our garden)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Very good, reminded me of what my grandmother used to make. I made it to the recipe the first time without the corn, didn't think the olives did it any favors so left them out the second time and added 1 1/2 pounds of cooked hamburger to it and made it a main a dish, we really like it, ty for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
My family scarfed this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancingdonna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This is really filling! I used chilli sauce instead of tomato sauce, and chicken bullion and water instead of chicken stock. Used more liquid than was stated. Also added some paprika to the dish. Melted some cheddar on top and topped it with sour cream. Left out the olives, but the corn went really well with rice. Tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Excellent! I added an extra 1/2 cup of rice and 1 cup of broth to feed a few extra people. (Also, I only used 3/4 of one onion, 1/2 of a green pepper and a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies and it turned out wonderful) Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States