Spanish Rice Original Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
Very nice flavor. I overfried my rice though so it did not get soft. Will try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
Wow! What a delicious dish! I didn't change anything about the recipe. It passed the "kid test" but not by a majority (1 of 3 enjoyed it and got 2nds) The next time I make it, I'll use less of the bacon grease. Also, to me, it seemed a slightly bit too acidic. Though that may have been due to the tomatoes (we used produce from our garden)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by recipeDawg

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Very good, reminded me of what my grandmother used to make. I made it to the recipe the first time without the corn, didn't think the olives did it any favors so left them out the second time and added 1 1/2 pounds of cooked hamburger to it and made it a main a dish, we really like it, ty for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Menominee, Michigan, USA
Living In: Marinette, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
My family scarfed this up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dancingdonna

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2009
This is really filling! I used chilli sauce instead of tomato sauce, and chicken bullion and water instead of chicken stock. Used more liquid than was stated. Also added some paprika to the dish. Melted some cheddar on top and topped it with sour cream. Left out the olives, but the corn went really well with rice. Tastes even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kiren K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2009
Excellent! I added an extra 1/2 cup of rice and 1 cup of broth to feed a few extra people. (Also, I only used 3/4 of one onion, 1/2 of a green pepper and a can of diced tomatoes with green chilies and it turned out wonderful) Everyone raved!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2009
Delicious! I cut down the amount of pepper and tomato used...partly because the size of each were huge!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Whats that Burning smell?

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
Mmmm...had this at Mom and Dad's when I brought Clayton to Minnesota the first time. Delicious! (Minus one onion and one pepper and the olives)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by theresa a.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Camp Lejeune, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
My husband thought this was good. I didn't exactly follow the recipe. Instead of 2 diced tomatos, I used a can of diced tomatos. Instead of tomato sauce, I used paste. I also left out the corn. For me, it tasted too "tomato-ee". Needed lots of salt. Next time---more broth, less tomato sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1gdcowgrl gone
Home Town: Marlow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2009
YUM! I had to scale the recipe back but it turned out super yummy. I omitted the tomatoes as I thought the tomato sauce would be enough, and I forgot to add the corn, but it was still good. I used red bell pepper, not green as green tends to upset my stomach. I added garlic powder, and instead of cooking the veggies in the bacon fat, I used olive oil. Add the veggies and bacon to the rice and let cook for a while longer. My guest loved it and I thought the flavour was great. Thank you, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

How to Make Classic Rice Pilaf

Never make sticky, mushy rice again!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States