Spanish Rice Original Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2014
delicious! I followed the recipe exactly and it's perfect :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
I needed a base for Spanish rice to make my sister's special galumpkies or others call cabbage rolls. I followed recipe except no corn or olives. I added ground beef. I didn't have green peppers so I used rotel. Wrapped in cabbage leaves, sauce on top, covered and baked. Family loved it.I will be using again and I will make it as written with no changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Wonderful!! I was so worried about all of the ingredients and wondering how it was really going to be a rice dish,, but it worked perfectly! I didn't have Chili so I used a Lime Fiesta spice instead. Whoops. I just realized, I didn't add the black olives or corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
We made this recipe quiet often by now. It is not hard to fix at all. We do not use the exact amounts of peppers and tomatoes though but the flavor is still amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Thumbs up from my daughter! I did not have tomatoes and peppers (and only one onion), so I subbed in some salsa that I had drained the juicier parts from. Did not have bacon either so I just used olive oil to saute onion and brown rice in. Turned out very good I thought, even with these modifications. I rarely give a recipe five stars. Was a great side for our tacos, thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Didn't use green peppers, substituted I can of diced green chilies! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Chisago City, Minnesota, USA
Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
This was the BIZNESS!!! Admittedly I didn't follow to the T, but close enough. Rather than tom sauce and fresh tomatoe, I used 1 can of cut up whole tomates along w/the juice from that can. I also ended up using all the juice from the other can. I would've used 2 cans of tom, but idk if my kids would have liked all those tom. I was cooking chicken for chicken tacos so just added some of that to the tom juice for the liquid. Again, due to my kids, I only used 1 onion and 1 green pepper. I can't imagine 2 onions, 1 of both was sufficient. I also didn't use corn or olives. Served this with refried beans and chicken tacos. DELICIOUS! Next time, however, I wouldn't use all the bacon grease, I would half it. Will make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kurlyy1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
I made this yesterday to go with cheese enchiladas I prepared for my birthday luncheon. I doubled the recipe as suggested, and made only minor changes. As I didn't want it to be too tomato-ey, I changed the ratio of broth and tomato sauce to 3:1, in accordance with some previous reviews. I also omitted the fresh tomatoes. I used 2 green & 2 red bell peppers, plus one hot light green pepper (instead of the chili powder). I included the corn but not the olives (the enchiladas had some and I didn't want to overdo it). The result was excellent. I made it fairly early in the morning, and reheated it for 3 min. in the microwave just before serving. Oh, and as I had forgotten to add the bacon, I sprinkled it on the top, which gave a nice appearance. Although this recipe was a bit more work than some of the Spanish rice recipes on AR, I think the extra work was well worth it, and will certainly make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Betty Haniotakis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sierra Madre, California, USA
Living In: Athens, Attica, Greece

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
So great. My go to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 202) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States