Spanish Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This one got excellent reviews. The only changes were, used chicken broth instead of water, 1/2 tsp salt and about 1/2 cup corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I made this recipe, but accidentally doubled the rice. I think it would have had better flavor if I had only add 1c of uncooked rice. I sautéed 1/2c onion, 1T minced garlic, and 3 slices of chopped bacon (omitted bell pepper since I had none). Then I added rice and stirred until slightly brown. Next I added a 1/4c chopped cilantro, 1/2c diced fresh tomato (substitute for canned) 2t tomato paste (with 1 cup of rice I would have used 1t), 1t. each of garlic power, onion powder, 1/2t cumin, 1T taco seasoning, sprinkle of Adobe seasoning. If I had chicken stock I would have used that, but I only had water--and the result was rice that was less salty and flavorful. I dont know if other users have experienced this, but when I start to add onion, tomatos, cilantro, I need less water to cook rice. For 2c of uncooked rice I used 3c of water. Brought rice and water to a boil, then turned down to a simmer and cooked covered for 30 min with out stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkermama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Hammonton, New Jersey, USA
Photo by cookiequeen
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was very good but I could have done with half as much chili powder & I love lots of chili powder in my chili But not so much in this. But, overall, a good recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookiequeen

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I followed the recipe as indicated. I put garlic, cumin and chicken broth as the one review suggested. In addition, when the rice was done I threw in a half cup of green onions and took off the burner. Everyone loved it! Already saved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This recipe is amazing! It has great flavor! We made it for Cinco de Mayo and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I just made this tonight...doubling the recipe for 4 adults & we all loved it. I put in 2 heaping tsp of chili pdr & 2 slightly heaping tsp cumin & it gave it just a nice bite...not tooo hot & not tooo mild...it is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
This recipe is good, easy to prepare, and yields consistent results -- I have made this twice. The consistency is a little chewier than I care for, so perhaps I'll reduce the water a bit. Also, I don't seem to get much flavor from the chilis as written: in a can of diced tomatoes and chilis. I might prefer to saute diced fresh chilis with the onions and green pepper, though that adds another step. Also, 1 tsp of salt wasn't enough to bring out the flavors, so if it seems a little bland, try adding more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
I made this as directed but used brown rice and 1 1/2 cups water, and it came out great! I didn't have any broth on hand, but I'll try that next time, it can only get better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
I am REALLY excited to report that I've found the secret ingredient to making this rice AMAZING! BEEF BROTH. The chicken broth was good, but seemed lacking. One night I had no chicken broth, but plenty of beef broth and tried it and it was AMAZING! Give it a try- you won't be disappointed! Some other tips from another reviewer that I followed and was very pleased with: 1)Add a clove or two of minced garlic, 2)Saute the veggies a little before adding the rice, 3)Take the time and brown the rice well, 4) Add a 1/2 tsp of ground cumin, 5) Use broth instead of water. I will have to try using bacon grease instead of oil next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RainbowEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Very flavorful! Cooked according to directions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by iamgoofy21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States