Spanish Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
Great recipe..changed it up a little..instead of green pepper added a fresh jalepeno..great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
This was really, really good. Like others, I used chicken stock in place of water and added a pinch of cumin. I also subbed the tomatoes/chiles with 2 small fresh tomatoes and 1/2 of a jalapeno. Next time I will probably add the whole jalapeno for a little more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This was good but expected more somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This is really good. Above "Restaurant Quality". I took others' advice and added garlic powder, ground cumin and chicken broth. For the broth, I found chicken bouillon with tomato in the Hispanic grocery section. Just be sure to cut back on the salt. Beautiful color and very flavorful. Immediate hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I found this recipe very tasty. I had my friends over, and we used this in tacos. We made a few minor adjustments, since we didn't have all the ingredients, but it still came out delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I've tried several Spanish rice recipes on this site and this is truly the best. I do always use chicken broth instead of plain water. The measurements are just right on this recipe, using long grain rice always. Not too soggy, not too dry. I did use another reviewers suggestion of bacon grease in stead of oil to fry the pepper/onions/rice in and I did add in a chopped jalapeño and minced garlic. A bit of cumin and paprika give more of the Spanish flair to this dish. This is now my to go to recipe for Spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This recipe is amazing! Especially with the chicken broth in lieu of water. It's the only way to do it in my opinion. I love this recipe. It doesn't need anything else but since my family loves it, I'll add some chopped cilantro and when I have them, sliced baby carrots. This is an excellent rice to use for arroz con pollo. Just shred some rotisserie chicken and toss it in! It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Very tasty rice! It was quite easy to make but the kids would not try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This one got excellent reviews. The only changes were, used chicken broth instead of water, 1/2 tsp salt and about 1/2 cup corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I made this recipe, but accidentally doubled the rice. I think it would have had better flavor if I had only add 1c of uncooked rice. I sautéed 1/2c onion, 1T minced garlic, and 3 slices of chopped bacon (omitted bell pepper since I had none). Then I added rice and stirred until slightly brown. Next I added a 1/4c chopped cilantro, 1/2c diced fresh tomato (substitute for canned) 2t tomato paste (with 1 cup of rice I would have used 1t), 1t. each of garlic power, onion powder, 1/2t cumin, 1T taco seasoning, sprinkle of Adobe seasoning. If I had chicken stock I would have used that, but I only had water--and the result was rice that was less salty and flavorful. I dont know if other users have experienced this, but when I start to add onion, tomatos, cilantro, I need less water to cook rice. For 2c of uncooked rice I used 3c of water. Brought rice and water to a boil, then turned down to a simmer and cooked covered for 30 min with out stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkermama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Clementon, New Jersey, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 1,231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States