Spanish Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
I found this recipe very tasty. I had my friends over, and we used this in tacos. We made a few minor adjustments, since we didn't have all the ingredients, but it still came out delicious! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *Sherri*
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
I've tried several Spanish rice recipes on this site and this is truly the best. I do always use chicken broth instead of plain water. The measurements are just right on this recipe, using long grain rice always. Not too soggy, not too dry. I did use another reviewers suggestion of bacon grease in stead of oil to fry the pepper/onions/rice in and I did add in a chopped jalapeño and minced garlic. A bit of cumin and paprika give more of the Spanish flair to this dish. This is now my to go to recipe for Spanish rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
This recipe is amazing! Especially with the chicken broth in lieu of water. It's the only way to do it in my opinion. I love this recipe. It doesn't need anything else but since my family loves it, I'll add some chopped cilantro and when I have them, sliced baby carrots. This is an excellent rice to use for arroz con pollo. Just shred some rotisserie chicken and toss it in! It's wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2012
Very tasty rice! It was quite easy to make but the kids would not try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
This one got excellent reviews. The only changes were, used chicken broth instead of water, 1/2 tsp salt and about 1/2 cup corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2012
I made this recipe, but accidentally doubled the rice. I think it would have had better flavor if I had only add 1c of uncooked rice. I sautéed 1/2c onion, 1T minced garlic, and 3 slices of chopped bacon (omitted bell pepper since I had none). Then I added rice and stirred until slightly brown. Next I added a 1/4c chopped cilantro, 1/2c diced fresh tomato (substitute for canned) 2t tomato paste (with 1 cup of rice I would have used 1t), 1t. each of garlic power, onion powder, 1/2t cumin, 1T taco seasoning, sprinkle of Adobe seasoning. If I had chicken stock I would have used that, but I only had water--and the result was rice that was less salty and flavorful. I dont know if other users have experienced this, but when I start to add onion, tomatos, cilantro, I need less water to cook rice. For 2c of uncooked rice I used 3c of water. Brought rice and water to a boil, then turned down to a simmer and cooked covered for 30 min with out stirring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by parkermama

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Redding, California, USA
Living In: Clementon, New Jersey, USA
Photo by Peggi Weaver Tebben
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was very good but I could have done with half as much chili powder & I love lots of chili powder in my chili But not so much in this. But, overall, a good recipe. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggi Weaver Tebben

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Poteau, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Granbury, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I followed the recipe as indicated. I put garlic, cumin and chicken broth as the one review suggested. In addition, when the rice was done I threw in a half cup of green onions and took off the burner. Everyone loved it! Already saved the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2012
This recipe is amazing! It has great flavor! We made it for Cinco de Mayo and it was a big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
I just made this tonight...doubling the recipe for 4 adults & we all loved it. I put in 2 heaping tsp of chili pdr & 2 slightly heaping tsp cumin & it gave it just a nice bite...not tooo hot & not tooo mild...it is a keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 1,237) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States