Spanish Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2006
I have made this recipe for probably about 16 years now. I wanted to throw out there some suggestions to make it taste more authinic. #1.Use bacon grease instead of vegetable oil. #2. Add chopped garlic with your chopped onions and bell peppers. #3. Saute your onions, garlic, and bell pepper first before adding the rice. #4. Brown rice well. #5. Use chicken broth instead of water!!!! It gives it that much more flavoring. #6. Add in about a 1/2 teaspoon of ground cumino. This spice you will find in all true mexican food but it is very strong a little makes it wonderful....a lot is too overpowering and can ruining a dish. #6. Add some parsely to it. I love parsley and use it in every dish. The best rice to use for this meal is long grain. I will be serving it tonight with homemade Empanadas. I hope my additions helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2967 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Lavaca, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2002
I am a great lover of Spanish cooking and recipes, and have several of my own. This is probably the best rice recipe I have tasted--after I made two alterations. I used Chicken stock in place of water, and I added 1 large seeded and diced jalepeno to the green peppers. This gave it the little added "bite" that I was used to in Spanish cuisine. Five cheers for Dave on this fine recipe. I will make it many more times, as my small family and many friends agreed with me on the outcome. Thanks again, Dave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
455 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2003
A fine recipe on its own, but can be perfected(at least to my tastes) with a few alterations. 2 tablespoons olive oil 1 cup uncooked white rice 2 green onions, chopped 1 large jalepeno, chopped and seeded 1 1/2 cups chicken broth 1/2 cup tomato sauce 1 (10 ounce) can diced tomatoes and green chiles 1 1/2 teaspoons chili powder. 1/2 teaspoon crushed cayenne pepper. 1 teaspoon salt Saute onions and jalepeno seperately, set aside. Brown rice, add back in the sauted veggies, and follow recipe as is. I would suggest reserving the rest of the chicken stock, and stir the rice every 10 minutes of simmering. It can easily burn unattended. Add more stock if needed. When rice is done(after about 25 minutes), fluff with fork and serve. Color, taste, and texture should be restaurant quality.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
400 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Nice recipe! I used beef broth instead of water, and added some minced garlic and 3/4 teaspoon of cumin. Just before serving I topped this off with some shredded cheddar cheese. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
168 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2007
A friend of mine makes a wonderful spanish rice and i couldnt get her on the phone so i looked this one up. I was very happy with my decision. My whole family loved this recipe. I used 1 1/2 teaspoons cumin and one teaspoon chili powder because my friend used cumin and i wanted to add it to mine. I love this combination and it will be a regular in my house! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RBROWN998

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panama City, Florida, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2002
I followed another reviewers advice and added a clove of garlic. I used a heaping teaspoon of chili powder (2 seemed too much to me) & have to say this was some of the best Spanish rice I've ever had the pleasure of eating. I will definately be making this again. Went great with Carne Asada! Thanks Dave! :O)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
Very good! And very simple. I did substitute a can of low sodium chicken broth for the water, added a little chopped garlic, and used a can of Rotell Fiesta flavor tomatoes with cilantro and lime juice. I made fajitas and served this as a side dish topped with Mexican blend cheese and sliced olives, and I should have doubled the recipe! It was gone in a flash! This one is a keeper! So easy and taste BETTER than the rice in most restaurants! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Like most others, I used chicken stock instead of water. Mine was too spicy...next time I'll add less chili powder. There was a big difference in the taste of this recipe and a box. This tasted so fresh...will definitely make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSUSFREEK

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2003
This is a great rice recipe! I made it last weekend for my Mothers birthday and everyone loved it. I added a few sprinkles of cumin, but other than that didn't stray from the recipe, thanks Dave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2004
What an easy Spanish Rice recipe. It was much better than the stuff from a box. The only change I made was to use a can of tomatoes and a can of green chilies (I didn't have a can with).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,206) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States