Spanish Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This will be a staple food when I make Mexican/Southwestern. I didn't have chili powder, so I used 3/4 a teaspoon of cumin instead. I felt the can of tomatoes was too much, (almost equal amounts of tomatoes and rice) so next time I will try a small can of tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StrawberrySmoothie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2013
good, will add more of my own flair next time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Campbell, California, USA
Living In: Tracy, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
As is, it is bland. I make this rice all the time but using my modifications. Add CUMIN, CHILI POWDER, GARLIC and PEPPER! Also, toss in a bouillon cube or use broth instead of water. It is so, so, so good like this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JJRsMomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I will never again make the boxed variety of this dish. This recipe was great! I did read the reviews before making it and made 2 changes as other reviewers had mentioned. I used chicken broth instead of the water and only 1.5 cups of it. I reduced the chili powder to 1 tsp and added 1 tsp ground cumin and also added some minced garlic. Next time, I will bump up the chili powder though. It will be a make again and again dish here.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rhonda
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
For some reason I thought making Spanish Rice was a fine art only possible in a commercial kitchen or prepared by a true Mexican cook. But alas even I could make great tasting Spanish Rice with this easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I agree that this could be wonderful if prepared per the review Jodi Lynn put on here. It is okay as listed but it is excellent when the additional spicing is added, as she suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
Pretty good. A mild rice and it worked out well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dave Lee

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I'll never use the box stuff again! I did an experiment last night: we bought tamales at costco and I thought I'd try this recipe as a side dish and not tell anyone. When everyone sat down to dinner, they all loved the rice, and I revealed that I made it from scratch. Like a lot of other people, the only change I made was to use chicken broth instead of water. Other than that, this recipe is perfect just the way it is, and it's just as easy to make as the stuff from the box. I'm adding this to my recipe book and will make it again and again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
Finally - I can make Spanish rice! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2012
Super easy and super good. Never making any other rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 1,231) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States