Spanish Rice II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
My husband and I love this Spanish rice recipe. Thank you for sharing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2013
This is an easy side dish or an easy meal with the addition of a protein. The vegetarians in my family enjoy adding cottage cheese as a topping to this. The meat eaters enjoy seasoned, browned ground beef along with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annette P.

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
Very Good! I was making a vegan meal and this was a hit! As with all the recipes on this I go out of my way to make them according to the original and I was very pleased! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
great use chicken broth rotel tomatoes try cummin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
Our guests loved it. I followed the recipe including browning the rice which did take some patience and time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tuttle, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2013
This is the best rice I have ever made. However, I took some suggestions from other reviewers and made the following changes. I used bacon grease instead of oil. Be sure you use long grain rice such as Uncle Ben's. Using a 12 inch skillet saute garlic, onion and the green pepper for just a minute then add rice and continue sauteing until the rice is well browned. Substitute chicken broth for the water. The recipe does not specify the brand of tomatoes but use Rotel brand which is 10 ounces. If you use regular diced tomatoes they are 15 ounces which probably contributed to some reviewers having soggy rice. Plus Rotel tomatoes add to the spicy flavor of this recipe. Chili powders vary a lot in hotness. I used a mexican chili powder and added 1/2 teaspoon of ground cumin. The rice was perfectly spicy for us but would probably have been too spicy for children or even some adults. This recipe would make a wonderful and tasty one dish meal by simply added shredded chicken, ground beef, sausage of meat of your choice to it. Tonight I'm trying it with ground beef and will substitute beef broth for the chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Photo by Holly21602
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Really good! I did however add less water to it so it didn't turn out so soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holly21602

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2013
Sorry, this recipe just didn't work for me. It ended up coming out soggy and mushy. There was just way too much liquid. Maybe I'm not using the right type of rice? It just says white rice and the one I used must not have been the right kind. The flavors seemed fine but I'm not sure if I'll try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
Made this recipe for mother's day! Mom and grandma don't eat onions or garlic, or anything spicy, so I left out the chile, chile powder, and the onion. For 5 servings, I used just under one cup of white rice, 1 whole green pepper, a 15 ounce can of diced tomatoes, and a whole bushel of asparagus. I also used olive oil instead of vegetable oil, and i threw the green pepper and the asparagus in there for a few minutes before i put the rice in, just so they can brown a little. The 1 cup rice to 2 cups water is a perfect ratio, and came out perfectly! Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
it was okay. I used medium grain rice nd that did not work out. plus, it needed a little more flavoring. not used to making rice on the stove, prefer using a rice cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States