Spanish Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
This was a good recipe. Next time I make, I will look the veggies separately, and then add the rice afterwards. I may try to add some heat too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soupisgoodfood33

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Love this stuff! I did add minced garlic along with the bell pepper and onion and used a mexican spiced tomato sauce. Also added about a half cup of chicken broth (from bouillion) after i accidentally used more rice than I should have. It definitely takes longer than five minutes to cook the rice using regular rice...you just need to check it after about 20 minutes or so. Be sure to brown the rice before you add in the veggies. It was absolutely delicious...good enough to eat all by itself!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vodkagimlet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Van Buren, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fort Smith, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Decent. I didn't have regular rice or would have made my usual spanish rice recipe. A little sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2010
Had someone give me a box of 'instant' rice which I never buy and stumbled on this recipe by doing an 'ingredient search' to use the rice up. Its a GREAT recipe. Followed precisely the first time, questioned the mustard, but did it anyway, was not disappointed. Strange little zing it gives to this dish. The dish is very forgiving. Once I didn't have tomato juice so used chicken broth and was not disappointed. The recipe is very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This was excellant! I follwed the recipe exact, only using fire roasted can tomatoes. I would not change a thing...delicious, healthy and a great side for Mexican steak or Chicken!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by loriski

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bridgeview, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
Delicious and hubby thought was fantastic! I used cooked rice, omitted peppers b/c didn't have any, and used low sodium V8 choice. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2009
Great tasting rice! I followed the instructions regarding the amounts for each ingredient and it turned out perfectly! Rather than using instant rice, which I didn't have, I used par-broiled rice and instead of tomato juice, I used spicy clamato juice, which was a great substitute. May I suggest, as optional ingredients, thyme (1/2 teaspoon for a serving of 4) and a couple of hot green peppers from Turkey for an extra kick to the taste. Not that it needed it but still, for lovers of spicy dishes, those two ingredients could add some zip to this wonderful dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casselman, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This is awesome!! Sadly..I usually use the boxed stuff (for time reasons more than anything). But this is worth the time to cut up the veggies. I had leftover red, yellow, orange, & green bell peppers from the nite before so I used a little of each. Made it very flavorful and super colorful!! Also I only used a half of onion because that's all I had left. I will definately put this in my recipe binder as a keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Monte Vista, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
This reminds me of my husband's spanish rice. He's Italian. When we have leftover made-from-scratch spaghetti sauce he adds some Taco seasoning, red & orange bell peppers-chopped and MIN--- Rice. It is wonderful. I love it better than any I have ever had at a restaurant or out of a box. Good way of using up extra pasta sauce too...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States