Spanish Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2003
This recipe was good; I liked it better than the rice I eat out of many Mexican Restaurant. Something to look out for: When I increased the serving size to 20, it increased the number of vegetables: 4 onions, 4 red peppers, 2 green peppers. It was too much, I used one green pepper, one red pepper, one yellow pepper, and one onion, and that was great. I added chili powder, diced tomatoes with green chilies and chicken broth. It was great. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2003
My husband, the rice freak, LOVED this recipe and asks for it about once a week! Very easy to make and flexible enough to sub if you don't have everything on hand. I was out of tomato juice, so used a small can of tomato paste with equal amounts of water. Worked just great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
Excellent tasting recipe. I put extra onion and red peppers in it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2006
great recipe, I omitted the green pepper, added a chicken boulion cube and used a can of diced tomatoes with chilis. We had friends over, who normally don't eat rice take second helpings of this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
Very good flavor. I used diced tomatoes with onions and peppers, so I deleted the green pepper. Also added about 1 tsp taco seasoning. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2006
I made this on the fly one night while family was visiting. They were amazed that I found it quickly with the recipe search and had the ingredients on hand. Tastes great. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2006
This is excellent. I adore spanish rice and hadn't found a recipe this good in the last twenty years. I did omit the mustard and didn't read carefully.I used two large peppers one orange and one green. I also cut up one roasted Chile.Yum. This was so good, I ate way too much. Thank you for submitting this recipe. Lal667
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2006
I was looking for a spanish rice with ground beef and minute rice (using what I had on hand) I lightly browned the hamburger, drained it, added it back to the pan with a lg chopped onion (I didn't have any peppers)rice, and 1/2 T. of oil. Sauted until onion was tender, added the tomatoes & salt. I didn't have tomato juice so I mixed 3/4 of a sm can of tomato paste with 1 1/4 c water (a little more than the cup of juice called for, but I thought I would compensate for the addition of beef) I also added a 4 oz can of diced green chilis, drained and 1/2 tsp of cumin. Turned out excellent! I've made this early in the day so I can refrigerate it and warm it later for better flavor as suggested by another review. Next time I will make this recipe as it is called for to give it justice, but it sure was good like this. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Knob Noster, Missouri, USA
Living In: Glendale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2006
I would rate this a 5, very easy to make and tasted good....I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calumet, Michigan, USA
Living In: Gwinn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Just made this and it was GREAT! We substituted 2 cans of diced tomatoes for the 1 can plus juice and it was fine. I think next time we might cook the peppers and onion a bit more before adding the rice as they were a bit crisp for our taste. Great recipe. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Jefferson City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States