Spanish Rice I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2007
I loved this rice, but hubby wasn't as impressed. He is more a Mexican rice fan (without the tomatoes). I did have to change a few things up because of what I had on hand. I used a 28 ounce can of diced tomatoes, added about a 1/2 tsp. of comino, and used a cup of water because I didn't have tomato juice. I left out the mustard and had to use a poblano pepper because I didn't have a bell pepper. Anyway, it was still delicious even with all my changes. (I would definitely recommend cooking the onions and peppers first before adding the rice.) Thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dilley, Texas, USA
Living In: Pearsall, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
I was looking for an easy Spanish rice recipe that tasted somewhat like my grandmother's. This one had far more liquid, too much for my taste. My family may have liked it better if I added more rice or less tomato juice as it seemed like the other ingredients overpowered the rice. I doubt that I'll make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Claremont, California, USA
Living In: Westwood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2006
Yum! I was hesitant about leaving WHOLE tomatoes in this, but it was delicious. I'll be making this over and over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
It was simply great. The only thing we changed the second time around was to use less tomato juice. It is now in our dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Despite the lengthy time spent cutting the veggies, it was a very easy recipe. Definitely will make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2006
I thought this recipe was very good. I used v-8 juice instead of regular tomato juice and also used regular rice instead of instant and it worked out fine. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
I used this recipe to make Spanish rice to put on Fajitas that I used the "Fabulous Fajitas" and the "Easy Guacamole" recipes. All recipes superb. My only comment is that the mustard I used actually made the rice taste like mustard, I added some hot sauce to balance the taste. I'll either skip the mustard or try a different kind next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
Absolutely the best! Flavorful and easy to make. I needed to add more tomato juice to cook properly. Serving estimate must be off because I had enough for 12 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
'Absolutely delicious' is all I could say as I tasted this rice. SO much flavor. I made this thinking it would be mexican style rice, which we love here in Texas, but it was a pleasant surprise once prepared.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2006
Absolutely loved the flavor, and adding in the peppers really gave it that extra kick! I ate the leftovers for days afterwards.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States