Spanish Rice Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2006
To make this more like my Abuela's arroz con pollo, I used a little less broth (we use about 1 1/2 cups total liquid per cup of rice) and a small packet of Goya seasoning con azafran instead of the paprika and pepper. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2006
This is a great foundation recipe - it can be taylored to fit many tastes. I found it took longer to brown the chicken, but the rest of the recipe is pretty accurate. I did my own version: Substituted olive oil with canola oil; Supplemented the paprika with cumin; Used the chicken skin to flavor the rice and peppers, then discarded the skin; Supplemented the bell pepper with 3 more serano peppers; Supbtituted whole tomates & liquid with diced tomatoes & liquid; Also, I believe using my Le Cruset for this dish made it better than a regular pot. I think it will make good leftovers, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieGal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
This was a really tasty dish--my lover loved it. I used boneless, skinless chicken breasts and canned diced tomatoes with green chilis. This one is a keeper because we love Mexican dishes and this tastes quite authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Wow; Incredible great recipe that I will make again and again. My changes..1 tsp cumin instead of paprika and rotel diced tomatoes with a small can of tomotoe sauce. Rice takes forever to cook in the dry air of Las Vegas so I thought the extra liquid would help and it did!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Nyhart Owen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
First time making anything like this.....was delicious !! I also took out the paprika and replaced it with goya seasoning con azafran....was FANTASTIC !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pippino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
this recipe was really quick, and easy. I had my dad over for dinner that night, and it reminded us both of something my mother sed to make!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2008
I used boneless/skinless chicken thighs for this but otherwise followed the recipe exactly. Really easy to prepare, great weeknight dinner because of minimal prep. The taste was very yummy! I may try this in the crockpot next time. My family raved at how great this tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tania

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Scotts Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I had a taste for the 'real' Spanish Rice and am I glad I searched this site. This recipe turned out so nice. I wanted to eat it all myself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2004
This is an AMAZING dish. I was skeptical about this dish due to the dejà-vu-ness of the ingredients, but at the end, the rice and chicken came out SO flavorful. I think the secret lies in the olive oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I did not have green pepper so i used hot chili peppers for a nice kick, as well as chopped celery. Needed salt and red wine to balance the chicken broth, (which i made). Added some frozen peas and carrots that were handy and provided variety and color; handful of grated romano cheese too. It is a versatile basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States