Spanish Rice Chicken II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mattd22556
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
We doubled this (needs to feed 7 people here), and used brown rice, and chicken breasts, I also added corn and chipotle chili powder to the mix. It was really great, and the family killed it. Wouldn't say it's authentic, but it's really tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palatine, Illinois, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Good basic chicken and rice dish. Before preparing I read all reviews. I did not have green pepper so I used a serrano and an orange bell pepper. For tomatoes, I used diced with jalapeno. I also added 2 cloves of minced garlic after sauteing the onion and peppers. I changed the amount of paprika to 1 tsp., added 1/4 tsp of turmeric and dissolved a generous pinch of saffron threads in the chicken broth. I had a small serving of homemade chorizo in the refrigerator, so I threw that in when adding the liquid and tomatoes. I brought the liquid to a simmer on the stovetop then finished the dish covered in the oven at 375 for 25 minutes. Before serving I added 1 c. of frozen peas, and let the heat from the finished dish warm them. This was a delicious "poor man's" paella, which I will be serving over and over again. Four stars because I changed it so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Floridafoodie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
It was good but needed more salt. I added corn to the dish which added a nice flavor to it. This may sound strange but I enjoyed eating the rice and corn more than I did the chicken. Next time I think I will add green peas with the corn more rice and skip the chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
used drumsticks. added water as needed during simmering. also added a teaspoon of cumin and a few jalapenos. substituted canned diced tomatoes with their liquid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
This was great, I started on top of stove but finished off in oven 350 for 45 min. My husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb from Northfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northfield, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
Excellant. Easy to prepare. I used instant rice. Thought it could have used some fresh garlic though. But very very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
I would give the rice 5 stars and the chicken 3 stars, so average to 4 stars for the whole recipe. I made this twice in the same week because I loved the way the rice turned out--so flavorful! Best Spanish rice I've ever made. The first time we had to add salt to the rice at the table because it wasn't nearly salty enough for our taste. The second time I tasted the liquid and rice mixture before I added the chicken back in and added enough salt to taste. I think the next time I make this I will season the chicken under the skin, then brown it to flavor the rice, then finish baking the chicken itself in the oven so the skin stays crispy. The chicken is just very bland cooking it in the rice without any seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2010
As a person just starting to cook this was really easy and it came out perfect. I'm a big fan of Spanish rice and chicken and my son really enjoyed the dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2010
First time making anything like this.....was delicious !! I also took out the paprika and replaced it with goya seasoning con azafran....was FANTASTIC !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pippino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Barnegat, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Brick, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
I did not have green pepper so i used hot chili peppers for a nice kick, as well as chopped celery. Needed salt and red wine to balance the chicken broth, (which i made). Added some frozen peas and carrots that were handy and provided variety and color; handful of grated romano cheese too. It is a versatile basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ming

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Weeki Wachee, Florida, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 29) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken and Rice

See how Chef John makes rich, deeply flavorful arroz con pollo.

Easy Chicken Rice Casserole

See how to make a super-simple, comforting winter casserole.

Easy Delicious Chicken and Rice Casserole

This chicken and rice casserole is simple and tasty.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States