Spanish Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly. And I had reservations the entire time I was making this. First, I thought there was too much liquid and not enough rice. Then, as things got going, I thought the rice was going to be undercooked because I had gone back and read reviews while I was waiting. But, it turned out fabulous. I did do one thing differently, I used only one skillet for the entire thing. However, that's not changing anything. My husband did note the sweetness to it. We thought it was a different flavor, but enjoyed the originality of it. He ate his folded inside a tortilla with some sour cream and extra cheese. I used some tortilla chips and sour cream with mine. Overall, excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jade W
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! I loved making it all in one pot for easy clean up. I did mess up and use brown rice, which I later found out takes really long to cook. Next time I’ll make sure to use white rice or start this earlier. With the brown rice I had to wait another 20 minutes. But it was well worth the wait. I’m not a big fan of cilantro but it really tasted great on this meal. I think with the leftovers we’ll eat with it wrapped in a tortilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made this last night and ALL of my family was convinced they weren't going to like it. So they when I "plopped it" it on there plates the groans began. UNTIL they tasted it. Even my husband who claims he doesn't like ground beef couldn't wait to see how much wiould be left for his lunch! It had just the right amout of spices, enough kick at the end of each bite. It was easy to make and didn't take long at all. I will definately make again! Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Very tasty & easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was pretty good. Easy to come together. I didn't have any problem with the rice cooking. It didn't say to cover when cooking, which I was skeptical of with rice, so I ended up not covering it anyway. Rice cooked fine at a simmer for 30 minutes just as the recipe called, stirring 3 or 4 times within that time. I also just cooked the stove-top part in just one deep pan, but did transfer to a casserole dish and baked as it said. My husband really liked it, but to me the chile sauce made it have too much of a sweet taste, which I wasn't fond of. But other than that, not bad. Just a taste preference for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This recipe gets a 4 for flavor and a 3 for texture. Next time I make I will layer the meat mixture with either crushed tortilla chips, corn chips or corn tortilla shells. The meat mixture is delicious, just is all the same texture. I added some minced garlic to the meat while cooking. I added black beans and green chilis under the delicious blanket of cheese. I did add crushed tortilla chips on top but was thinking while making it that I should have layered it and I was right. (Per our taste) I'll bet this would make great enchilada filling! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is wonderful. See notes for slight changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2012
Love this recipe. i recently went vegetarian and i have adapted it so we can continue eating it. so many good flavors. i add black beans to it for some extra protein!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Family loved this and said to keep the recipe - I have picky eaters, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
I couldn't wait to make this recipe from the second I saw it. It was really good. Next time I'll omit a little chili sauce and replace with Catsup (prefer taste). I accidentally added 1 tablespoon of brown sugar...a little too sweet that way. I also mixed in the cilantro and that tasted a little too strong. Despite all that, I enjoyed every bite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 2as1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cottage Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 697) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States