Spanish Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I thought this was DELICIOUS! My family devoured it:) I always read the reviews first and make some changes based on other's reviews. Here's what I did. I used a whole onion and green pepper. I cooked the rice separately using whole grain brown rice. I seasoned the meat with garlic salt and red pepper (We like it spicy). Then I added the veggies, one can stewed Mexican tomatoes and one can chili style beans (both undrained) and remaining ingredients. I omitted the water because the rice was separate. It simmered while the rice cooked. Once finished, I added in the rice and just melted the cheese on top. This was very tasty, healthy, and cost effective. When you're feeding a family of five that matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I did make this and it was so addicting! These are the changes I made, I used fresh chopped tomatoes instead of canned, jasmine rice, homemade spicy salsa instead of the Chile sauce and doubled the cumin. Other than that, I followed the recipe as it reads. I am definitely keeping this recipe for future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I had no problem with the rice. I think the reason some people had undercooked rice is that they did not cover the pot during cooking. Also for the chili sauce you have to use the kind more similar to cocktail sauce rather than the Siracha type if you're following the recipe. I used a whole green pepper because it's silly to waste the rest of it and actually it could have used more. Also cooked the spices with the meat and used a single pot. Didn't use any cheese, authentic Spanish rice doesn't include cheese; even though this is not an authentic version it's still pretty good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
Followed this recipe exactly. Unfortunately my hubby thought it was just ok and a little sweet for his tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
We LOVED this recipe! I did however, cook it in one pan and served the cheese on the side. My husband likes rice so I cooked an extra pot of rice and it was good with extra rice. I didn't have just diced tomatoes but, I did have a can of diced tomatoes with garlic and onions. Yummy..It would be good wrapped in a flour tortilla too
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
My family and I ate this for dinner tonight and loved every bite! I follwed a few tips from other posts. Added alittle taco seasoning to meat, used 1 &1/4 cup water and simmer on low for 40 mins, no sugar and replaced the chile sauce with salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Merlin08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryan, Texas, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Muscle Jock Chef
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2014
WOW!!! this recipe is totally AWESOME.. I made this one pot dish in a cast iron skillet.. I also used ground bison instead of ground beef, it's more lean less fat. Like the other reviewers while browning your meat add the seasons , I didn't use the brown sugar, can diced tomatoes, or the chili sauce I use salsa medium & hot instead of that. Which gives you all the flavor. I also use little more cumin to taste and I added a can of Mexican corn w/ peppers, also a little taco seasoning on the beef... MMMMMMM this was perfect.. when adding the rice it is important not to do too much stirring of the rice just evenly distribute & cover with lid turn all the way down to low for simmer.. I added grated extra sharp cheese to the topping .. My friend who I cooked this for.. LOVE IT.. .said I knocked it out of the park. Remember when cooking anything seasoning is all about taste, slowly add your seasoning then taste.. add more if needed to suit the taste your looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muscle Jock Chef

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Blenheim, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This was excellent! I made a few adjustments, only because of what I had in my pantry. I used 2 (10oz.) cans Rotel diced tomatoes with green chilies (mild) instead of the diced tomatoes, green pepper, and chili sauce (I omitted the sugar). In an oven safe, covered skillet, I browned the beef (97% lean), with the onions, and then added the rest of the ingredients (except the cheese), covered and cooked until the rice was done. Uncovered, sprinkled with cheese and placed the uncovered skillet in the oven until the cheese was melted and slightly browned. Garnished with sliced scallions (didn’t have cilantro) and sour cream. Everyone loved this, even the Grandkids, who asked me to make it again, really-really soon… lol Next time I’ll double the recipe, the little bit of leftovers was great the next day... but left me wanting more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
This is almost the same recipe that my mother has been making for the past 50+ years and I've been making for the past 40. The differences are we do not add brown sugar or chili sauce, since I am a diabetic, nor do we add salt and use the low sodium tomato sauce and diced stewed tomatoes. Something else that I do is instead of ground beef, I use ground turkey or ground chicken thighs (since the thigh meat has more flavor), and instead of water, use homemade chicken broth. If you want a little more spiciness, add a small can of red Enchilada sauce (I use the mild). A real crowd pleaser.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This was excellent! I did make a few adjustments. I used red and banana peppers instead of green pepper. I used canned tomatoes with green chilies instead of plain canned tomatoes. I used Heinz brand of chili sauce but also added about 1 T sriracha sauce. Rice took longer to cook so had to increase liquid. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States