Spanish Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2012
We made this tonight for supper! Very good! Smelled amazing, we were hoping it would taste as good as it smelled and it did. We made it exactly as the recipe said, the only thing I may change next time is to add some jalapeno for a little heat. But if you don't like spicy its very good the way it is!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
This was very good...a great comfort food! I subbed ground chicken which I browned with a bunch of spices (garlic, etc). I decided to use brown rice instead of white and added a full 28oz can of tomatoes instead of using water with the smaller can of tomatoes. This had great flavor, a bit sweet, but savory at the same time (not spicy at all). I skipped the cilantro at the end as we don't like it. Served with a green salad for a balanced meal - yummy :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJACKSON

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pickering, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2012
I'm giving this five stars since I believe it would be delicious the way it's written. However, because I didn't have a lot in my cupboards, I had to modify this quite a bit and the results were excellent and VERY easy! Talk about a quick meal! I didn't have any fresh veggies, so after I browned the meat, I added a can of Tortilla Soup (instead of all those fresh veggies) and then added the rice and water. I stirred it once, brought it to a boil and then turned the heat down to simmer - not removing the lid until the rice was fully cooked. That took about 20 minutes. Then, I took tortillas that I made the night before and cut them up into pieces and lined the bottom of the baking dish. I put the Spanish Rice mix into the baking dish, smushed it all down added a little cheese on top and put it in the oven for 15 minutes - just until the cheese melted and it was delicious! This is definitely a repeat meal in our household! The first night, I added too much cayenne pepper so it was really spicy - since the soup is spiced already. The second time, I added none and it wasn't spicy enough. lol! Just like Goldilocks and the 3 bears, the third time came out perfectly spicy. In fact, I've made this half a dozen times and each time it's better than the last. Highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
I followed this recipe exactly. And I had reservations the entire time I was making this. First, I thought there was too much liquid and not enough rice. Then, as things got going, I thought the rice was going to be undercooked because I had gone back and read reviews while I was waiting. But, it turned out fabulous. I did do one thing differently, I used only one skillet for the entire thing. However, that's not changing anything. My husband did note the sweetness to it. We thought it was a different flavor, but enjoyed the originality of it. He ate his folded inside a tortilla with some sour cream and extra cheese. I used some tortilla chips and sour cream with mine. Overall, excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mom22GreatKids

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Living In: Newburgh, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jade W
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2012
Thank you so much for sharing this recipe! I loved making it all in one pot for easy clean up. I did mess up and use brown rice, which I later found out takes really long to cook. Next time I’ll make sure to use white rice or start this earlier. With the brown rice I had to wait another 20 minutes. But it was well worth the wait. I’m not a big fan of cilantro but it really tasted great on this meal. I think with the leftovers we’ll eat with it wrapped in a tortilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jade W

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I made this last night and ALL of my family was convinced they weren't going to like it. So they when I "plopped it" it on there plates the groans began. UNTIL they tasted it. Even my husband who claims he doesn't like ground beef couldn't wait to see how much wiould be left for his lunch! It had just the right amout of spices, enough kick at the end of each bite. It was easy to make and didn't take long at all. I will definately make again! Thank you so much for this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2012
Very tasty & easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2012
This was pretty good. Easy to come together. I didn't have any problem with the rice cooking. It didn't say to cover when cooking, which I was skeptical of with rice, so I ended up not covering it anyway. Rice cooked fine at a simmer for 30 minutes just as the recipe called, stirring 3 or 4 times within that time. I also just cooked the stove-top part in just one deep pan, but did transfer to a casserole dish and baked as it said. My husband really liked it, but to me the chile sauce made it have too much of a sweet taste, which I wasn't fond of. But other than that, not bad. Just a taste preference for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This recipe gets a 4 for flavor and a 3 for texture. Next time I make I will layer the meat mixture with either crushed tortilla chips, corn chips or corn tortilla shells. The meat mixture is delicious, just is all the same texture. I added some minced garlic to the meat while cooking. I added black beans and green chilis under the delicious blanket of cheese. I did add crushed tortilla chips on top but was thinking while making it that I should have layered it and I was right. (Per our taste) I'll bet this would make great enchilada filling! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHIEH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Zeeland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2012
This is wonderful. See notes for slight changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pembroke, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States