Spanish Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2012
I was looking for a new Spanish rice recipe and this one was very yummy! Like most people, I made changes based on what I had. I used one can of diced tomatoes and one can diced tomatoes with green chilies. I only used 1/4 cup of chili sauce since I knew the green chilies would add spice. Rice and I don't get along, so I always use instant! I cooked it ahead of time and added it in after I let the veggies and beef simmer. Oh, I also stirred in about a 1/4 cup of lite cream cheese before I put it in the baking dish and then topped it with a little lite sour cream when I served it. My 2 yr old ate it, if that tells you anything! Thanks for this easy and yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Misty Darnell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gurnee, Illinois, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
Excellent recipe! I used salsa instead of chile sauce as some of the other reviews suggested. I also added a can of corn and used a cup of rice instead of 3/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
This was really good. Super easy. Pleased husband and kid.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENI MOORE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
This is really good. Quick dinner and I had leftovers the next day. Used low fat cheddar and topped with low fat sour cream and cilantro. Will make often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellyf4

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2012
Fantastic, easy to prepare and always enjoyed by my family of 3 males and myself. I followed the recipe exactly and I use Heinz Chili Sauce, it's not crazy hot but adds a great taste. I layer 1/2 the meat/rice mixture, then a layer of cheese, then repeat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cork1035

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
This is just awesome!! My husband easily ate about HALF of it over the evening (and he is NOT a big man!!). I used a whole medium onion, and used poblano peppers instead of bell peppers. I added 1-Tablespoon of chili powder. For baking, I put 1/2 of the mixture into the casserole dish, sprinkled with grated cheddar, then spread the over 1/2 of the mixture, then topped with more grated cheddar! We are "cheese freaks" here. It was just YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladyjack

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
Very bland. Don't make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
This is a very good and easy recipe. I would not use 1/2 cup chili sauce unless you want to set your mouth on fire. Otherwise, it is good as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
love this for an easy meal with a tortilla freezes well and u can add things like beans, fresh tomatoes, salsa, hot sauce, bbq sauce done it all and its delicious every time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2012
We just had this for dinner and it was a HUGE hit! Neither of my children are fond of cooked tomatoes, but they both loved it. My husband pouted when I said he couldn't have the left-overs for lunch. I did make a couple of substitutions out of necessity. I did not have brown sugar so I replaced it with maple syrup. Also, we were out of Worcestershire sauce. After looking online, I went with others suggestions of replacing it with steak sauce, a dash of cinnamon and a dash of ground cloves. This is definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 731) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States