Spanish Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
This is great! I changed it up buy using spicy canned tomatoes and Monterey Jack cheese. I also omitted the brown sugar and used red pepper seasoning for a kick instead of the chili sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Very easy and delicious. I didn't have chili sauce so I used 1c of mild salsa & 1/2c of water. I also added cumen, chili powder & garlic powder to my hamburger when browning. I added a can of mexi-corn to the mixture and cooked it entirely on stove top because I didn't want to start oven & heat up my kitchen.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tipton, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
I followed the recipe to the letter with the exception of: adding a couple of chopped chorizo sausage along with the beef mince, using home-made passata sauce instead of tinned tomatoes, used chicken stock instead of water and increased the amount of rice (I used jasmine) slightly by 10 grams. Also pepped up the flavour by adding some chili powder and a dash of Tabasco.Was planning to make chili con carne initially for dinner then thought hmmm, why not do this recipe instead and have a one-pot dish with everything in it. So before transferring to the dish to bake, added a can of kidney beans. A friendly tip while baking in the oven - cover the dish with foil so the cheese won't harden and the rice won't get burned. Hubby loved it, went for seconds. Tasted even better the next day. Got some frozen in reserve for emergency days when there's no time to cook. A real keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2013
Great recipie! everybody loved it, this will be a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Independence, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2013
My family enjoyed this dish. I did however make a few alterations because I did not have some of the ingredients on hand. Instead of chile sauce I used 8oz can of tomato sauce and added some chili powder. Also didn't have cilantro, so I used green onions. Used orange and yellow bell peppers instead of green bell peppers too. Definitely will be making this again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2013
This is a great week night meal that provided great leftovers. All of us loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I live by myself and I make this any chance I get. I love it-and it heats up real well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
I thought this was great, how can you go wrong with a dish topped with cheese! The only change I made is I used salsa instead of chili sauce. I topped with dried onions and a flour tortilla on the side. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheila Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
This was much enjoyed by everybody! Thank you ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
This was a great quick recipe for me, since I used leftover cooked brown rice (and omitted the water). I used a can of rotel tomatoes and added leftover tomato paste instead of using chili sauce and subbed coconut sugar for the brown sugar. I also added quite a bit more cumin, at least twice as much, because I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: East Lyme, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 722) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States