Spanish Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Great meal...didn't change anything!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
Made it exactly as directed. Definately passed the toughest critics in our house! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lapeer, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I really enjoyed this recipe. Added a few dashes of hot sauce when cooking, an envelope of Savor (Spanish seasoning) a cup of salsa, garlic, a little bit of green onion and lined the bottom of the casserole dish with refried beans. Omitted cumin and sugar. Served with salsa, sour cream and guac. The trick to cooking rice is to boil off the excess water and then turn to low and simmer for 30-40 min, covered. Don’t stir. Very good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
This is a wonderful dish. It can be served as a side to any meat. Just a trick regarding the rice, a rice expert once told me that if you rinse your rice in cold water at least three times, then let it sit in cold water for about 1 hour, the rice will not stick. It also will cook better because it absorbs some of the water and puffs out. It works, my rice is separate and cooks easily every time, even with the cheapest rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Gananoque, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Marmora, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I made this with instant brown rice and omitted the cilantro as I had none. I respect others reviews that this is not a true Spanish dish yet I found it to be delicious and my family seemed to really enjoy it. I am in search of recipes that I can easily make that do not include meat but contain enough vegetables and beans (maybe) to serve as a filling main dish. My goal is to cut down the meat consumption in my families meals to 3 times per week. I am thinking this may be one that I could use black beans instead of meat with. If any who read this review have any helpful insight than please do share. Otherwise cook and enjoy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I love this dish. I am for doing things easy so I used a dutch oven and browned the hamburger, onions and green pepper and then used canned wild rice and used the rest of the ingredients as listed and popped it right in the oven and baked it until the cheese was melted. Cut off 30 minutes and the wild rice gives it a bit of a nutty flavor... yummmm...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
Taste is great, made a few changes but the rice took an hour and 15 to cook. next time i'll try instant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was a great recipe! I used what I had on hand and made some changes due to not having everything. I put garlic powder and onion powder in with the beef. Then, I mixed red onions, peppers, black beans, minute rice, and enchilada sauce in to simmer on the stove. Simmering for 30 on low heat covered, then added cheese to it and simmered another 5 minutes to melt cheese. It was great and I think you can change it to fit what you have on hand. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
I didn't have worcestershire sauce so I used tamari instead (soy sauce). Also didn't have canned tomatoes, so I used Publix's "Fire Roasted Salsa" which had corn and black beans in it, and omitted the chile sauce since I didn't have any. Also ended up not doing the last step (bake with cheese on top) because I had to leave before finishing the dish and Hubby was already hungry, so he ate it as is. It was already very good without it! He liked it burrito-style too - as a filling with a tortilla. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
My mother's recipe was somewhat similar, but no baking involved. It was a quick meal that we loved. She boiled her rice in chicken stock and chopped green onions(scallions). (salt chicken stock to your taste). When rice is cooked, add 1 - 2 cans of seasoned stewed tomatoes (more flavor), salt/pepper to taste, 1 cup of Kraft Cheez Whiz or to your taste. Heat through, taste test and add more cheese or stewed tomatoes. This can also be doctored up with your favorite flavours, salsa, etc. She served this with beef sausages, cooked and fat drained off, and fresh crusty rolls. It was yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puppyluv

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 701) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States