Spanish Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, but kept wondering if the rice would be done. After I put it in the oven, I then read the reviews & was mad at myself for not reading them sooner like I usually do. Saucepan needs to be covered to cook the rice! Here's what I did at this point to get the rice done: poured about 1/2 cup of water over it & covered with foil. Baked it about 30 min & the rice was done. Delicious! Feels a little odd making a side dish with meat, however. I may substitute the meat for black beans next time. I would give this 5 stars if not for the error in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Nothing not to like about his dish; easy to fix, quick, and pretty dang tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jimlee

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Portsmouth, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Followed the directions to the finish and added some black beans. Thought it was great! Kids liked it and leftovers were excellent on a wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gnulph

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
Awesome recipe exactly as written with the following direction clarification: at #2, bring all of the ingredients to a boil and COVER; reduce heat to simmer for 30 minutes WITHOUT stirring. We loved the flavor!!! Cooked the whole thing in a 10 inch cast iron skillet with high sides...only one pot to clean. It's a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gtyyup

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsboro, Oregon, USA
Living In: Princeton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is absolutely delicious! I can't say how good it is! Everyone loves it and it has become a new quick, easy staple meal in my house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
great, satisfying comfort food that is quick and easy to make ahead for busy days when you don't have time to cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rainy River, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
What a great recipe! Takes Tacos to a whole new level! So filling and flavorful! My husband didn't stop eating until the dish was scraped clean!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
This was delicious! I took reviewers advice and used salsa instead of chile sauce and did not add the brown sugar (although I think I could have without bad effect) because people mentioned the rice not cooking well, I was cautious with removing the lid to stir and ended up burning the bottom a little bit, so keep it covered, but do stir!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
My husband and I both thought the taste of this was great, but agree with other reviews that the rice does not get cooked properly if you follow the instructions. I did follow them as I usually do the first time with a recipe and we had crunchy rice, not inedible, but distracting. Because the taste is so good, I will make it again, but will parboil the rice first. I did not have fresh cilantro, so sprinkled dried on the top before putting into the oven. Also added much more pepper than the recipe called for and served with hot sauce on the side as while the taste is could, it could stand to be spicier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
for vegetarian substitute a can of gorbanzo beans for ground beef. It comes out really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 729) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States