Spanish Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
Very good. I used salsa instead of chili sauce & red pepper not green.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Great Falls, Montana, USA
Living In: Issaquah, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
I make a similar dish, but this recipe is definately better. I used ground turkey & sauteed the onions with it & added seasoned salt & chilli powder. I then added a large can of diced tomatoes, a jar of salsa & the remaining ingredients. I omitted the chili sauce & brown sugar, as suggested by others. I also used brown rice. This definately took longer. I had to simmer everything for about 1 hr. I transferred it to a baking dish & topped with lots of cheddar cheese & green onion. We can't wait to have the leftovers tomorrow night! I am going to use it for taco salads! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by XtinaU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
i am rating 4 because of brown sugar and those darn whole tomatoes. i will definitely leave it out the brown sugar...i hated it sweet! Also don't use whole tomatoes. i don't like that much in a bite. but if you do go ahead. diced tomatoes would have been much better. I used chicken broth instead of water...I know it will be really good next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LORIDOESLOANS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2011
Delish!!! I made it with brown rice and used Trader Joe's Salsa Authentica instead of chile sauce. I also used a whole green pepper instead of measuring out a 1/4 cup. An important note if you're using brown rice - it needs to simmer for about 50 minutes instead of 30. It had tons of flavor and felt hearty even with brown rice, 90% meat and reduced fat cheese. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hannah P

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scarborough, Maine, USA
Living In: Portland, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2011
I used cooked chicken instead of ground beef, since I'm not fond of the texture that the ground beef has. It turned out GREAT!!! and was given two thumbs up by family. This recipe is in the must repeat file.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
I've made this twice now. As someone suggested, I left out the brown sugar. I also prepared it in one sauce pan and I didn't bother to bake it. We added the cheese at the table. It's nourishing, doesn't take a lot of preparation or use more than one piece of cookware. It will be my go-to for a hot meal without a lot of effort.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2011
I added taco seasoning to the beef, and made my own chili sauce with 1/2 cup ketchup + 2 tsp chili powder. Only used 1 pan & I did not take the cover off the pan to stir while the rice was cooking because that would let the steam escape which is part of how the rice cooks. Really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hartsellem

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Pickerington, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
Followed recipe howver added red pepper flakes and it still seemed to be missing something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2011
I use ground turkey and opt for salsa instead of chile sauce...this time I made it I added zucchini to it as well..great base recipe..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2011
Prepared using salsa as suggested by a reviewer and used a cast iron skillet for stove to oven. Delicious - everyone loved it. Will use the leftovers as buritto filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katiehome6

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 697) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States