Spanish Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2012
Yum, yum, yummy!!! This was so super easy and quick to prep that I was sure I had done something wrong or left something out. I did not brown the meat in a seperate pan then transfer to the pot...I did it all in the pot and no draining. The only thing I added was a can of canned corn, drained, and it was delish!! This would be a perfect dish to make ahead, store in the fridge or feeze, to enjoy later!!! I was a little worried about some of the ingredients but when it all came together it was wonderful. My husband is VERY picky and thought this was very good!! Five stars from the entire family!!! Thank you so very much for a wonderful, easy, and tasty dinner!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
Very, very good!! I love this receipe!! My family loved it. Because we like spicy food, I added some jalapeno pepper. I also seasoned with some zesty creole seasoning and added a couple cloves of garlic and a little pablano pepper. I used ground turkey instead of the beef and it turned out delicious. I will definitely be making this again and soon!! Great receipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2012
I had this one in my recipe box for two years and finally got a chance to make it and I am glad I did. I had to add more water while the mixture was simmering since the rice was not fully cooked and there was very little liquid left. I also used a can of chopped tomatoes with jalapenos for an extra kick. Not sure if I liked the brown sugar in it but the family thought it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hainesport, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Yum! Used brown rice instead of white, used salsa instead of chili sauce and added a can of black beans. Let it simmer for 45 mins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esther Kaiser

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
This was great! After reading a few comments I did the following - used a dutch oven rather than multiple pans, browned the meat with a clove of garlic, used about a cup of green pepper and a full teaspoon of cumin. I used about 4 tsps of spicy thai chile sauce because that is what I had on hand. I covered the pot and simmered for 30 minutes and the rice was perfect. Didn't bother to bake at all, just topped with cheese and recovered until melted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Turned out great and took advice from others and used salsa instead of chili sauce, and brown rice instead of white. I was worried that it would turn out too spicy for the kids but it was not at all and the family really liked it. Easy to make and filling!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
My family loves this! I make it all the time. I took the advice of the reviewer from Costa Rica and added the spices to the cooking meat. Instead of water and tomatoes I used a jar of salsa and a can of enchilada sauce since it had been on the pantry for a long time and I wanted to use it. I made it all in a cast iron skillet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
I used a 28 oz can of diced tomatoes like another user said to and I will say that they were right! Also, I added two cloves of garlic. I had velveeta cheese so I used that instead. I also served with cilantro and a dollop of sour cream. Delicious! Would be good with tortillas too or chicken. I'm thinking add some spice and guacomole on the side and you won't have to go to a mexican restuaraunt for a good burrito anymore!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
this is a good base for the makings of a great side dish. I used jalapeno instead of bell pepper, diced roasted tomatoes instead of chile sauce, fresh minced garlic and omitted the brown sugar and Worcestershire sauce. I made the rice ( brown) in the rice cooker ahead of time to speed up assembly. I plan on making this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurse kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Murrieta, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
Delicious; will make again. Took an hour to simmer though, to cook the rice, so next time I would add cooked rice. Also added leftover corn and fresh sliced mushrooms. along with a little chicken broth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

Displaying results 111-120 (of 720) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States