Spanish Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Very good. Next time will leave out the sugar. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Harrell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
This recipe is AWESOME! I didn't have any chili sauce and used about a tablespoon of crushed chili paste instead. I let it simmer for 30 minutes which was a bit too long. Without the additional liquid from the chili sauce everything else started to burn and stick the pan (which was definitely my own fault). If this recipe is too sweet for you I'd suggest using chili paste plus it gives it a little kick! Also LOTS of cilantro is a must. I will definitely make this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2014
This was great! Delicious! I had the same problem that a lot of people did with the rice burning/cooking through all the liquid without softening enough. This is despite the fact I never drained the hamburger (it was low fat to begin with) and added a whole batch of the 'chili sauce' recipe I used from this website--so about double the non-water liquid. Next time, maybe I'll try a lower temperature/longer cook time and double the water as well. I'll have to look at the comments. It probably doesn't help that I'm cooking at high altitude. But the recipe tasted so good in the end that tweaking the time and temp will be worth it. The other subs I made were to double the cheese I put on top and use 2 jalapenos instead of green pepper because that's what we had in our garden. My husband liked it best with sour cream and even preferred it better the next day. The suggestion to use a skillet-dutch oven turned out to be great! One pan all the way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2014
We liked it, but next time I will add some oregano and reduce the amount of cheese. I might add a bit more cumin as well. I used Herdez Salsa instead of chili sauce and omitted the brown sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by magtart

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
It was good my husband like sit but did not like it enough to make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mystic, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Just had this for lunch and it was really yummy! Only thing I may have added is the recipe said half cup of chilli sauce and I added SWEET chilli sauce. Even my hubbie ate it and he is very fussy at the moment! I used minced turkey instead of beef for a change and it was delicious. Great if you are watching your calories! Another great recipe Allrecipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Leete

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
Excellent recipe! I actually used 2 cups of chili sauce as it made the rice slightly moister (this was after I had doubled the recipe so it would fill a 13x9 pan). I also put 2 cups of cheddar cheese on top and it was very tasty. Not only did everyone love it but there were absolutely no leftovers- and this was substantially more than I would have ever expected them to consume!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I thought this was DELICIOUS! My family devoured it:) I always read the reviews first and make some changes based on other's reviews. Here's what I did. I used a whole onion and green pepper. I cooked the rice separately using whole grain brown rice. I seasoned the meat with garlic salt and red pepper (We like it spicy). Then I added the veggies, one can stewed Mexican tomatoes and one can chili style beans (both undrained) and remaining ingredients. I omitted the water because the rice was separate. It simmered while the rice cooked. Once finished, I added in the rice and just melted the cheese on top. This was very tasty, healthy, and cost effective. When you're feeding a family of five that matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2014
I did make this and it was so addicting! These are the changes I made, I used fresh chopped tomatoes instead of canned, jasmine rice, homemade spicy salsa instead of the Chile sauce and doubled the cumin. Other than that, I followed the recipe as it reads. I am definitely keeping this recipe for future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
I had no problem with the rice. I think the reason some people had undercooked rice is that they did not cover the pot during cooking. Also for the chili sauce you have to use the kind more similar to cocktail sauce rather than the Siracha type if you're following the recipe. I used a whole green pepper because it's silly to waste the rest of it and actually it could have used more. Also cooked the spices with the meat and used a single pot. Didn't use any cheese, authentic Spanish rice doesn't include cheese; even though this is not an authentic version it's still pretty good and easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartsburg, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 716) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States