Spanish Rice Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2014
This was excellent! I did make a few adjustments. I used red and banana peppers instead of green pepper. I used canned tomatoes with green chilies instead of plain canned tomatoes. I used Heinz brand of chili sauce but also added about 1 T sriracha sauce. Rice took longer to cook so had to increase liquid. Will definitely make again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
I absolutely love this, and have made it many times now; it's really wonderful fresh, with the sweet sauce and the cilantro. I typically hate leftover food, but this is one leftover dish I can eat all week. It is sweet, depending on how much brown sugar you use. I didn't have bell peppers the first time I've made this, so I substituted garbanzo beans instead, and have been making it with garbanzo beans since then. I also had run out of chile sauce, so used a mixture of tomato sauce/brown sugar/vinegar/allspice. Oh, and don't mess with all the extra frying pans and saucers; brown the beef in one dish, drain the fat, and simply add the rest of the ingredients to that dish, after which you can transfer it all to the appropriate casserole dish. Just delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
It was good. I made some changes as per other reviews. I sprinkled some taco seasoning mix onto the ground beef, used salsa instead of the chili sauce and omitted the brown sugar. I cooked it all in one pan and sprinkled the cheese on top. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
Tasty! Reminds me a bit of my stuffed bell pepper filling, but easier and quicker to make. My kids are grown, but I wish we'd had this recipe in our arsenal while they were with us. It's great to have another option for ground beef. I followed the recipe, except I used a 28-oz can of tomatoes, as well as a couple of the tips in other reviews, adding a handful of frozen corn at the same time as the other additions, and browning the ground beef along with a clove of garlic and the onion. I, too, made the entire meal in a cast iron skillet rather than messing with other pots. My husband raved about this and enjoyed seconds as well as taking some for lunch the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heatherbee

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
My family loves this. This recipe has made into my personal recipe book. This also freezes and vacuum packs very well.Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Macon, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Liked it just as is, I used Jasmine rice and it came out perfectly in a Le Crueset Dutch oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
Made as written, aside from using tomatos with chili peppers, a yellow pepper (didn't have a green one), and adding some garlic. We loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2014
This is very good side dish !! Hit in my family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food4me

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2013
Good, next time I need to double the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waterbury, Connecticut, USA
Photo by Joyax
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
Pretty good basic recipe. I used chicken instead of beef, and cooked in just one oven-proof metal saucepan. I put one whole bell pepper, homemade marinara sauce instead of crushed tomatoes, and taco sauce instead of chili or salsa. I skipped the sugar too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 700) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Best Spanish Rice

See a quick-and-easy recipe for the yummiest Spanish rice.

Beef and Rice Stuffed Bell Peppers

This simple technique makes stuffed peppers even more delicious.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States