Spanish Potato Omelet Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2015
I used red onions and i gotta say, it was simply brilliant!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by DetectiveL
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2015
Good, easy recipe! I left the skin on the potatoes as a preference; however that made the edges a little discoloured so I recommend you don't do the same if that would bother you. Served with tomato wedges and green onions. Because the omelette is (supposed to be) plain, I made some flavourful dill bread with cream cheese on the side. A pot of strong coffee rounded out a great breakfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2014
I really loved it....simple and delicious. Although it's a very greasy dish but a treat won't hurt once in a while. I used season-all and pepper for the potatoes and s&p for the eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2014
My friend from Barcelona taught me how to make this 2 months ago & I've made it for my family 5 times since - my 2 kids & my "meat loving" husband love this & if have it for dinner w/o meat, everyone is happy. My friend taught me a time saving trick for busy moms that does not change the flavor - she cooks the sliced potatoes w/ the onion & olive oil in a glass pyrex dish in the microwave for 7 minutes or so, or until they're tender. I have a newborn baby & less time, and found a great bag of frozen hash browns at Trader Joe's, no ingredients other than potatoes; I throw the bag in the microwave for 5 minutes with the onion, olive oil, salt/pepper (uncovered in a glass pyrex dish). Then cook the omelette with 7 eggs, use plenty of oil for when you flip it. So good at room temp., better than hot. No other additions. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2014
I love this dish. I first found it at a restaurant in Spain. However, the spaniards call it Tortilla Española. Basic ingredients such as eggs and potatoes are crucial but you can add anything to the mixture that you want such as tomatoes, ham, cheese, (and since I'm from New Mexico) I add green chili. Don't forget to add a generous amount of salt. You don't want to overpower the recipe with it but it is a crucial flavor for the eggs and also helps keep the dish from falling apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EJ Gallimore

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
I am so glad I tried this recipe. It tastes exactly the way I remember the omelets in Spain tasting, when I visited many years ago. I didn't change a thing. Fantastic, just like it is! I will probably be making this a lot now that I found it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I was late getting up and really hungry so I started with potatoes O'Brian thawed in mw. Added to onions already in pan, added smoked paprika and chipotle chile powder. Added eggs and covered the pan to hasten cooking and whoa, I turned it over without incident! Oh, I added parsley to the eggs while I was whisking them. Delicious. Will definitely make again. Took no more than 15 minutes including prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marylyn
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
This was really yummy. I added too much pepper and made it a little hot, but it was still delicious. I ate this as a child from someone from Spain "Amelia", she made the best, this brought back memories. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Excellent! Adding to my regular rotation for Meatless Mondays. I was pleasantly surprised when hubby admitted to liking this as well because he does not normally tolerate anything with potatoes. Thanks for posting. I made this exactly as instructed except served sliced tomatoes and green onions on the side instead of on top. Really quite good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cher

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ingersoll, Ontario, Canada
Photo by bd.weld
Reviewed: May 20, 2013
I thought this was missing something liked diced jalapenos. I didn't feel that it was necessary to flip the eggs over. I just placed a lid over the pan and cooked the eggs on low heat until done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bd.weld

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, California, USA
Living In: Victorville, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Mealtime Money-Savers
Mealtime Money-Savers

Browse through over 500 recipes for delicious, budget-friendly meals.

Can What You Can't
Can What You Can't

The old saying goes, "Eat what you can, and can what you can't!" We have the know-how.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Potato Gnocchi

Chef John reveals the tricks to making perfect potato gnocchi.

Potato and Chorizo Mini Quiches

See how to make bite-size party quiches with potato and chorizo sausage.

Spanish Rice II

This Spanish rice has lots of rich flavor, and is very easy to prepare.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States