Spanish Moroccan Fish Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
Very good! I changed the servings to two for the amounts of fish and veggies but changed the servings to 4 for the amount of spices to use. I also used both kalamata and spanish olives, I also used 1 cup olives. Not being a huge fan of beans, I replaced with broccoli. Spicy, great tasting. The fish just soaks up all that flavor. My husband was very suprised by this dish. He loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
My picky eaters love this recipe! It's wonderful on a cold winter night. Real comfort food. Thanks Hanna!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bernie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: West Vancouver, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2008
Absolutely an EXCELLENT recipe! My non-fish-loving husband gulfed this down in 5 minutes! I followed the recipe along with some of the raters' suggestions. These are the changes I made: 1) Cut down serving size for 2 for fish/veggies & serving for 4 for the spices (as another rater did) 2) used dry parsley since I didn't have fresh ones on hand 3) used 1 cup mixed black & green olives sliced 4) added 1 sliced serrano pepper to add more spice (we love spicy) 5) added 1/2 cup raisins to the dish. I also cooked the fish for 40 mins as the recipe said, but I think it would have been done in 30 mins (it started to break apart at 40 mins). I served the fish with the easy curry coucous (recipe found on this site) without the raisins in that recipe...the dishes combined was a GREAT hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2007
I made this with a little less fish but all the vegetables. I added more olives and also adde 1/2 cup of raisins for the savory/sweet combo that I remembered from my trip to Morocco. A little spicy, but a BIG hit at my house
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RhondaT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2007
I loved this recipe. THe only changes I made were to use a can of diced tomatoes in place of the fresh, both kalamata and green olives (probably about a cup worth) and added some spinach on top. Oh I also cut the red pepper way down so that it wouldn't be too spicy for the kiddos. I will definitely be making this again and soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ZOPOOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portsmouth, Virginia, USA
Living In: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
YUM!!! I only used 3 pounds of tilapia with the veggie and spices remaining the same and it was good and made a HUGE portion. Also, I changed the cooking method because I wanted to put it in the oven and leave it alone: I put the vegetable/spices/chickpeas mixture in a 9 x 13 baking dish, rubbed both sides of the fillets with the mixture, placed them on top of the vegetables, poured about a cup of chicken broth instead of the bouillon/water mix and baked for 25 min or so at 375 degrees (temp suggested by another user as well). Served with rice and crusty bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissad738

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Oregon City, Oregon, USA
Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
great North African recipe. I did add a few capers, and also added a few more olives,omitted the paprika and opted for rahs hanout instead. everything else the same. I think I only had 2.5# of tilapia and it was perfect as is over rice. I'd like to try this with cod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I really liked it the next day more than the first day. The flavors really blended more into the fish. I think next time I may cook the vegetable combination really slowly to get the full flavor going and mix the fish into the hot mixture in small chunks or something so the flavor gets into the fish more and the fish flavor gets into the vegetables. Thanks for sharing this unique dish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bedford, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
We have been looking for variety as we try in increase our fish intake. This recipe will definitely be part of our regular collection. I followed the recipe very closely, only using about 1 cup of chicken broth instead of bouillion and water, cutting the spice down to 1/2 teas. cayenne (for preference), and used 20 oz. of mahi mahi (the amount our family eats in one meal). The half reduction of cayenne still gave it a little kick for the adults to enjoy and the kids would eat it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I will definitely make this recipe again. It reminded me a lot of my hostmom's cooking when I lived in Spain. I used sole instead of tilapia, and omitted the olives and parsley just because of what I had on hand. I think I also used a bit less cumin. It was an easy and delicious dish. I served it over couscous, but rice would work as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seguin, Texas, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Indian Fish Curry

Tasty white fish fillets are baked in a spicy curry sauce.

Brown Butter Pan-Fried White Fish

See how to make quick and easy pan-fried fish in brown butter.

Classic Fish and Chips

See how to make tasty, traditional cod fillet fish and chips.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States