Spanish Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
It was a recipe that I wanted to make and upon first hearing of the name my husband said - "nah, I don't think so." After I read out the ingredients he said sounds good & I went with it. Now he says "it's a five star."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
As a lover of garlic soup (and soup in general) this was quite a tasty starter. I didn't change anything except I used green and red peppers for color. Next time I might add a few pepper flakes for a kick. I served it with a light penne with more of the peppers and a tomato-parm overlay. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vrgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I made this soup for my Mom, who was suffering from a bad sinus infection. She loved it. The garlic really mellows after cooking in the stock. The only thing I wish I'd done differently is use chicken broth, rather than stock, as the stock was a bit overpowering. We added arugula from the garden to it...great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luann

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Excellent soup! Easy too! I took another reviewer's suggestions and upped the garlic. I ended up using 2 heads. I thought the flavor was perfect. I have never had Spanish Garlic soup before, so I can't comment on how this compares to traditional soup, but this was delicious! Hubby was raving about it the whole time he was eating it. I was surprised, since he's a total carnivore and there's no meat in this soup! He asked me to make it again, and I will! I sliced the red pepper into thin strips using my mandolin. I garnished our soup with some thinly sliced jalapeño (I know, likely not a traditional ingredient), but it gave it a nice bite. This makes the perfect soup when you're feeling a little under the weather. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA
Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I l-o-v-e garlic, so I knew this soup would be a hit. I had some matchstick carrots that needed to be used up, so that worked out perfectly. I only had pre-minced garlic, and I didn't add the salt or pepper, but instead a tiny pinch of red pepper flakes. My only complaint? Waiting for it to cool down slightly so I wouldn't burn the you-know-what outta my mouth. Thanks Judy, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Great starter, but we really like garlic. I mean really like it. We doubled the amount of garlic and still though it could use some more, so we went from 1 to 2 and a half bulbs. We also did half stock and half broth to let the garlic flavor come out a little more. The only other change we made was to blend about 2/3 of the soup in our magic bullet (any blender would do of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
this was quite tasty and healthy (garlic is so good for you)- i added some small pasta near the end of cooking- the ONLY problem was that nobody would come near me the next day- my husband said i smelled horrendous (as did he)- just a warning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I liked this soup, but I guess I just didn't love it because there wasn't much to it. It is relatively healthy and so quick to make. I might just like more stuff in my soup. This was a lot like only eating flavored broth. Really any vegetable could have been it. I think mushrooms may have been good too. I rounded it off with some heartier foods. Thank you, I did use what I had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States