Spanish Garlic Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
Great starter, but we really like garlic. I mean really like it. We doubled the amount of garlic and still though it could use some more, so we went from 1 to 2 and a half bulbs. We also did half stock and half broth to let the garlic flavor come out a little more. The only other change we made was to blend about 2/3 of the soup in our magic bullet (any blender would do of course).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
It was a recipe that I wanted to make and upon first hearing of the name my husband said - "nah, I don't think so." After I read out the ingredients he said sounds good & I went with it. Now he says "it's a five star."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Mount Juliet, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
I made this soup for my Mom, who was suffering from a bad sinus infection. She loved it. The garlic really mellows after cooking in the stock. The only thing I wish I'd done differently is use chicken broth, rather than stock, as the stock was a bit overpowering. We added arugula from the garden to it...great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luann

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by MBKRH
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2013
I l-o-v-e garlic, so I knew this soup would be a hit. I had some matchstick carrots that needed to be used up, so that worked out perfectly. I only had pre-minced garlic, and I didn't add the salt or pepper, but instead a tiny pinch of red pepper flakes. My only complaint? Waiting for it to cool down slightly so I wouldn't burn the you-know-what outta my mouth. Thanks Judy, this is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wheaton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
As a lover of garlic soup (and soup in general) this was quite a tasty starter. I didn't change anything except I used green and red peppers for color. Next time I might add a few pepper flakes for a kick. I served it with a light penne with more of the peppers and a tomato-parm overlay. It was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vrgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Flagstaff, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2011
this was quite tasty and healthy (garlic is so good for you)- i added some small pasta near the end of cooking- the ONLY problem was that nobody would come near me the next day- my husband said i smelled horrendous (as did he)- just a warning...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2013
I liked this soup, but I guess I just didn't love it because there wasn't much to it. It is relatively healthy and so quick to make. I might just like more stuff in my soup. This was a lot like only eating flavored broth. Really any vegetable could have been it. I think mushrooms may have been good too. I rounded it off with some heartier foods. Thank you, I did use what I had in the house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Photo by LilSnoo
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
Excellent soup! Easy too! I took another reviewer's suggestions and upped the garlic. I ended up using 2 heads. I thought the flavor was perfect. I have never had Spanish Garlic soup before, so I can't comment on how this compares to traditional soup, but this was delicious! Hubby was raving about it the whole time he was eating it. I was surprised, since he's a total carnivore and there's no meat in this soup! He asked me to make it again, and I will! I sliced the red pepper into thin strips using my mandolin. I garnished our soup with some thinly sliced jalapeño (I know, likely not a traditional ingredient), but it gave it a nice bite. This makes the perfect soup when you're feeling a little under the weather. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LilSnoo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Terrace Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Aurora, Illinois, USA


 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Garlic Soup

See how to make a simple soup that “causes happiness from the inside out.”

Cream of Green Garlic Potato Soup

See how to make a creamy, green garlicky potato soup.

Greek Lentil Soup

See how to make a simple, traditional Greek lentil soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States