Spanish Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jennifer Olsen
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
Followed recipe almost exactly, only difference was using a water bath while baking. I have made this several times and it turns out wonderful each and every time. Very traditional taste. I would recommend using exact ingredients and measurements, do not add more or less eggs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Olsen
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2015
This is almost like my basic recipe except I add 5 eggs and 8oz of soften room temp cream cheese. Also for a nice change up I sometimes exchange the sweetened condensed milk for one can of cream of coconut. When I bake it, I bake it in a water bath. This makes it even smoother and creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Marie Sansone

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
Fast easy & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nooraali
Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2015
This recipe was absolutely delicious, I was kind of skeptical in making this, due to the fact that i would have to put it in a water bed. But it turned out so easy and so so good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2015
Tasted amazing!!! Pretty simple once you get the sugar melting technique down. I suggest flipping it over before refrigerating. It was stuck when I tried flipping over after chilling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fullerton, California, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2015
Such a fantastic recipe! I only added a touch of nutmeg :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ameeta Scott

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
Great results that surpassed my expectations! I am a novice and this was my first attempt at both a syrup and the flan. I read the reviews and did the following: placed the glass dish on top of the stove near the vent to warm it while working on the rest of the steps. Increased eggs to 5 and used a blender to mix the vanilla and both milks before starting the sugar (condensed milk added last and no lumps formed so straining was not necessary). Added a few drops of fresh lemon juice to the sugar and stirred continuously until the "wet sand" look was achieved. I didn't have quite enough to coat the bottom and certainly not the sides of the dish but I continued anyway (after cooking, the syrup had spread just fine-perhaps I should have let the sugar liquify a little more but I was nervous about it getting bitter as others warned about). Placed a cookie sheet underneath the dish with about a half cup of water to create the water bath. Covered with foil. Tried a bite once cool and the rest the next day. Next day texture and flavor seemed better. Will definitely make again as I think with practice this can become an easy recipe to master and requires very few ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2015
I love this recipe. It is really good. Best Spanish flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
This is a great recipe. I am Cuban and this is a very authentic Spanish flan. A few tips that I think are worth mentioning is that you don't want to over do it on the sugar. If you have to much caramel on the pan or its uneven, after you flip it over the flan will be sunken because the sugar will have melted into it. If you are between having more or less sugar, less is the way to go. I have made flan before with no caramel on the top and it does not taste much different. This is not to say you shouldn't have the caramel top. That is a key element of flan, but don't ruin your flan by putting too much. If the sugar is hardening a lot faster than you can spread it evenly across the pan, which it will do, try putting your pan on the burner to get it hot.(Make sure you are wearing oven mitts!!) Another thing that is mentioned in many recipes, but not in this one is putting it in a water bath. Just find a slightly bigger cake pan and fill it up about halfway with the flan pan inside of it. It will make the flans consistency much smoother and evenly cooked. Don't overcook your flan either!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2015
1 hour in the oven was too long: the flan was burned. The caramel also hardened and stuck to the pan. After I flipped it over onto a plate, it collapsed and came out in a messy pile of chunks. I recommend thinking through the instructions better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States