Spanish Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I loved this recipe! I had to make it for a Spanish project and I definitely will be making it again. I recommend keeping the pan warm in the oven because the melted sugar hardens very quickly so it is much easier to pour into a warm pan. I forgot to add the vanilla extract but you couldn't taste the difference. It was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This is the best flan I've ever had and it's very easy to make. I did adjust how to make the caramel and my technique is fool proof. In a sauce pan, I add 1/2 cup of water to 1 1/4 cups of sugar, and stir to saturate the sugar completely. Put the spoon away because you won't use it again. Next I cover the pan with a lid and turn the heat on to medium low. The steam created inside the covered pan prevents the sugar from crystallizing. There is no need to stir. Just leave the pot covered, checking periodically. When it is completely liquified and at a rolling boil, uncover and continue to cook until it has reached your desired color. Remove from heat a pour into your baking dish. It is the easiest way to make caramel, and you can't screw it up. Also, I use a mesh strainer and cheese cloth when I pour the custard into the baking dish to make the flan smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MakMack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
For make the caramel is 1 cup sugar +1 cup water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This recipe completely failed for me. I'm an experienced baker and followed the recipe exactly, but the flan ended up with holes all through the bottom where the sugar had boiled up and was much too firm after 60 minutes of baking. I had to make a replacement dessert right before my party because this was not servable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I cooked per instructions and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I have been looking for a good flan recipe. Loved this! Tried another flan recipe from this site (baked flan) and it was too eggy. I used 3 egg yolks and only 2 of the whites for this recipe. This was so delicious. This will be made over and over. Found the perfect flan recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIDDYCAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe and I thought it was too sweet and I love sweets. My 11 year old little girl even thought it was too sweet. Reminded me of my grandma's corn pudding minus the corn and sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I added one extra egg for texture. Slow and patient with the caramel syrup. I also added about a tablespoon of water to the sugar for melting.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
The only correct recipe out here - with one exception. You don't need three eggs - you only need two. Sometimes even one will do, if it's large enough. The eggs are there to hold it together, nothing else. Either in the oven or on the stove, you need to set up a steam bath (double boiler) for it, to keep it moist and from cracking. It will set better. 30-45 minutes cooking is all you need - definitely not 60 minutes. Too much egg and overcooking will make it taste exactly like that - overcooked eggs instead of creamy flan. If you can taste the egg you've done it wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Véronique Walker
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I made the exact recipe but doubled the amount for a party with a Mexican theme. It ended up being the only dessert. I did add cream cheese (8oz), which made it super awesome!!!!! I forgot to turn it over before serving, but that wasn't a problem, the whole thing was gone fast! Great recipe for my 1st time time making flan :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 537) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States