Spanish Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I added one extra egg and cooked in a water bath covered and it came out fabulous!!!! Will be making this often. So inexpensive to make at home. In the grocery store I've paid 5 bucks for a small container. Never will again!!! Thanks ASOTO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This is the same recipe that I used to make. It is so easy and so good. Never had it to fail and even made it in the microwave a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WandaConboy
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Easy to make and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WandaConboy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Looks good. The recipe is simple. I probably would not use aluminum to cover it while baking. I would add more eggs to prevent any lumpy flán outcome. Overall it looks like a easy to follow recipe. 350 is the common baking temp but could be adjusted if need me. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lugofelix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I took a bite and it was too sweet! I left the flan in the oven longer than the instructions said because I wasn't sure if it was done. The consistency was terrible. =[ It looked lumpy instead of the smooth texture I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I followed the directions to the letter (and I am a fairly accomplished cook. First I too was surprised it wasn't cooked in a water bath. Putting it together was quick and easy. I think 60 minutes of cooking is too long. Much of the caramel over flowed onto the bottom of my oven, burning and smoking. I let it cool as directed but it still wouldn't come out of the pan the next morning(I made it the night before and once it was cool I put it in the refrigerator). Even if I let it come to room temperature and ran a knife around the edges, it didn't come out. So I scooped it. It was way over cooked. The eggs were like curdled. Overly sweet - though that didn't bother me as much as the texture. It was not creamy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
I double the eggs,added vanilla to the caramel syrup as well.My first flan and it was velvety smooth and delicious.Have not had a better flan and I am Puerto Rican and recently visited the island having a couple of "native flan"Will make again very soon as this batch will go uberfast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mysavourite!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Another reviewer suggested adding more eggs. REALLY wish I hadn't taken that advice... :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
My only additional notes on this recipe are, 1) when melting the sugar, make sure the bottom of your saucepan is nice and wide so that your sugar makes as thin a layer as possible. That way, it won't be burned by the time it's all melted. Also, on my stove, medium heat for melting the sugar was plenty. =) 2) MAKE SURE TO BAKE COVERED. It loses too much moisture if you don't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
OK, I'm guilty of going through reviews to find a common theme of changes others have made to come up with the best recipe the first time I make things. With this recipe, that was a MISTAKE. I added extra egg, and though still tasty, it had too much of an eggy consistency. Just not very smooth and creamy. The second time, I made it EXACTLY as written. Both kids said it was 10X better. TIPS: 1) don't freak about the sugar. I put my stovetop on 4, and just kept it moving as I was doing other stuff in the kitchen. Don't stir, just bring out your inner chef and move the pot around. It will get lumpy first, but that is normal. 2) I use a deep dish pie plate. 3) keep the dish in the oven so the caramel won't harden too quick when you pour it in. 4) Use a blender to mix egg, milks, and vanilla. 5) If the dish you use is close to full, be sure to put something under it. It does swell up, and will make a mess. I saw no need for the water bath. 6) don't change a thing. Make this as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 596) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States