Spanish Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Recipe needs an adjustment to the vanilla! I suggest to use 1 TSP instead of 1 TBSP. All I taste is vanilla and I thought it was strange to add a whole tbsp, but the reviews convinced me to try it. With the adjustment I would give it 4-5 STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Great flavor and very easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Great simple recipe!! No need to look further
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I never thought of flan as something that I could make myself. I would order it at a local resturaunt, which is awesome, but expensive. Overall, this is a good recipe and very, very easy! I did the water bath like other people suggested and the texture was wonderful (placing the smaller pan in a larger pan and pouring boiling hot water into the larger pan until it reaches the midpoint of the small pan to bake). I really do like this recipe, although I thought 1 tablespoon of vanilla was overkill. I think next time I will half it. Also, just a dash of cinnamon would be nice in the sauce. This is of course my personal preference. Also, it's really good with a little bit of real whipped cream (not cool whip) on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I don't usually change a recipe the first time but from reading reviews I decided I would. I used the microwave to melt the sugar and added a half a cup of water. I let it go around 6 minutes, going 2 minutes the first 4 minutes and 1 minute at a time after that. I believe it was 6 minutes. I let it get a bit darker then golden and it was perfect. I put all the other ingredients in the blender (using 4 jumbo eggs) then put the pan in another pan of water in the oven. This turned out better then I had hoped. My husband said it was better then any restaurant Flan he has had and bragged about it for a couple days. I think this is my new favorite dessert recipe! So simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2013
This was a delicious and very easy recipe. As other reviewers suggested I increased the eggs to 5, made it very rich. I also increased the sugar by a 1/4 cup to make sure I had enough sauce (can't have too much of that! ;) ) I used a 9.5" pyrex pie dish. Also, so you know you are doing it right, it seems that the sugar will never melt. It kinda sits there and clumps, then it finally starts to melt in places, then clumps some more, but then hits that magic place where it all melts. REMEMBER...this stuff is HOT, just a little will burn the snot out of you. When you put it in the dish it will stick to the sides as it cools. I also baked mine in a water bath. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2013
Cloyingly oversweet, and if I had not added baking *in bain-marie*, the texture would have been awful. I first learned to make flan during the years I lived i Spain. There, my friends used fresh whole milk, nothing canned, to make it. The two canned milk products used in this recipe make it taste of can, and that's just plain nasty. Sweetened condensed milk has the additional problem of coarsening the texture of the flan. Using the heavily sweetened milk product in addition to the full amount of sugar Spanish cooks use makes the flan taste cloying; it is not this sweet in Spain, the homeland of flan. In addition,. it is customary for Spanish cooks to add a long strip of lemon zest to the sugar before caramelizing it; they remove the lemon zest after the sugar turns a good, dark caramel. This recipe fails to tell you to bake it in a bain-marie, which ruins the texture. A flan baked in bain-marie is much smoother and less prone to forming those unpleasant little bubbles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
1) light copper for caramel, dont let it "brown", 2) use blender minimally, helps to break down egg, 3) IMPORTANT for smooth custard: strain through cheesecloth or potato sack cloth, 4) water bath cover lightly at 300 degrees (350 was too high and caused my custard to become uneven)... SO HAPPY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by May L.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
First try at flan, so I may have done it wrong. This fell apart badly but tasted okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONIA76

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
it tasted great, but was not creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States