Spanish Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2013
Another reviewer suggested adding more eggs. REALLY wish I hadn't taken that advice... :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
My only additional notes on this recipe are, 1) when melting the sugar, make sure the bottom of your saucepan is nice and wide so that your sugar makes as thin a layer as possible. That way, it won't be burned by the time it's all melted. Also, on my stove, medium heat for melting the sugar was plenty. =) 2) MAKE SURE TO BAKE COVERED. It loses too much moisture if you don't!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2013
OK, I'm guilty of going through reviews to find a common theme of changes others have made to come up with the best recipe the first time I make things. With this recipe, that was a MISTAKE. I added extra egg, and though still tasty, it had too much of an eggy consistency. Just not very smooth and creamy. The second time, I made it EXACTLY as written. Both kids said it was 10X better. TIPS: 1) don't freak about the sugar. I put my stovetop on 4, and just kept it moving as I was doing other stuff in the kitchen. Don't stir, just bring out your inner chef and move the pot around. It will get lumpy first, but that is normal. 2) I use a deep dish pie plate. 3) keep the dish in the oven so the caramel won't harden too quick when you pour it in. 4) Use a blender to mix egg, milks, and vanilla. 5) If the dish you use is close to full, be sure to put something under it. It does swell up, and will make a mess. I saw no need for the water bath. 6) don't change a thing. Make this as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Carrollton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
love the recipe, but I totally failed making the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
Made this today for dinner party tomorrow. I tasted on and it is way too sweet and not creamy. Will not make it ever again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BakeryGirl85
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This recipe was soooooo easy!!!! Flan tasted amazing! I did this receive twice one with 4 oz of cream cheese and am extra egg, since I like more of a creamier cheese cake flan and it came out really good I also tried the recipe exactly , and it came out really good... It really doesn't need cream cheese it has that creamier texture already, but u can only notice it because the cream cheese one had a slight more creamier taste . Either one is good, i suggest everyone trying the recipe exactly first before modifying it. Also u must do the water bath when it cooks! And I used a glass oven safe cookware dish for the flan 9.5 fit perfect! Melter sugar in the microwave , came out great super easy added half a tablespoon of water ( no lemon juice) , came out good! Must try! When u take out the oven u must poke with a tooth pick (just like a cake) if it comes out clean its ready. In most cases 60 min is average but the other times I tried it was like 2 hours!!! I think it depends if u pour hot boiling water in the water bath or just regular water, that may take longer if u just pour cool water But the tooth pick method is the best way to tell when to take out And make sure ur glass dish is for oven use!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I never had flan before, so I don't have anything to base the after-product against, but it was delicious! The only thing I did differently was increase the eggs to 4 and use a water bath to bake it in. It was so simple and delicious. I didn't have problems with the caramel, but I have made dozens of batches for Christmas candy. It took me about 20 minutes to melt the dry sugar but once the sugar wasn't lumpy it was the perfect coppery-color you want. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Too sweet; tastes like canned milk; texture isn't smooth enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I use only regular whole milk, eggs and sugar. This one is too sweet and almost sickening. If you like to add vanilla, that is up to you,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I followed this recipe to a tee and it came out extremely bad. By no means am I a bad cook but for some reason it tastes burnt and the surgar did harden. Help!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States