Spanish Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
Made changes but only because I like a more solid flan. I added 3 yokes, only used 3/4c sugar for the caramel, and baked in a water bath uncovered. This is a very easy and fast recipe to put together (used my blender). The 3 extra yokes made it a very smooth but firm textured desert. Until come across a better recipe, this will be at the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Royall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Keaau, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This is very easy. I bought a flan pan with a lid and cooked it on top of the stove in a boiling water bath. I also added two more eggs. I cooked it for 90 minutes. Just had to add more water occasionally so the pot didn't go dry. I bought the pan in Mexico, not sure if they are available elsewhere. Great for camping
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Foremost, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Lethbridge, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2013
As far as taste goes, this flan was delicious. When it comes to making the caramel syrup, I would add a 1/2 cup of water to the sugar and allow it to come to a boil until it reaches the desired color, since this is much easier than waiting for the sugar to dry melt. As far as cooking, I do not recommend covering the flan with aluminum foil. My oven actually caught fire at one point because the syrup on the bottom boiled to the top of the dish and out the sides ending up on the bottom of the oven and catching fire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2013
I tried this over the weekend. The only change was I made it with 4 eggs, upped the vanilla and cooked it in a water bath for 1.5 hrs. Pre-heated the baking pan before adding the sugar. OMG I think I'm in love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2013
Love it. I added a package of cream cheese to get a more cheesecake like flavor. First time making flan - I have to learn how to make the carmel better the next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gabysol
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
It was very simple so I was not expecting much. This flan is very good. I made it last night to have as a Valentine's Day dessert and tried one before tonight's meal. It has a great consistency and flavor. I baked it on water trays and it was simple. Before adding the caramel I had the small baking dishes on hot water as someone else recommended so the caramel wouldn't harden instantly. Worked great!!!! I think this will become a family favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
Didn't turn out very good. Need to practice more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2013
I did not like this recipe. It might just be a personal taste thing. I found it too rubbery and not very creamy and too sweet. I am still on the hunt for a creamy, light and tasty flan. I'll keep looking!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2013
This was so easy and Turned out so tasty... We added sliced fresh strawberries to each serving.. I will make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by love2cook32

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Mckinney, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
It's a super easy recipe to follow. The only thing I would change about it is the amount of sugar that gets caramelized. I thought 1 cup of sugar was waaaay to much so I lessened it to 1/4 cup and it was perfect! Also, I've always had the worst luck with caramelizing the sugar on the stove. What I do instead is put the 1/4 cup of sugar, in my round pan, in the oven for about 30-40 min at 360 degrees. Just keep an eye out for it so it doesn't over caramelize and burn.. but it's a no fuss, no mess way for sugar to melt and caramelize. Once you see it all caramelize and become amber, take it out and pour your flan mixture in and follow the rest of the recipe as listed. Best of luck to all you flan-makers! -Joanne
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 561) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States