Spanish Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2013
First try at flan, so I may have done it wrong. This fell apart badly but tasted okay.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SONIA76

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2013
it tasted great, but was not creamy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2013
I used 3 jumbo eggs, probably would equal 4 large. I made the custard in a blender first, so it'd be ready to pour into the pie plate. Also knew exactly how much water was needed for the water bath and had that boiling. Someone mentioned crystalizing the sugar in the pie plate in the microwave, so I did that. 1 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup of water and a few drops of lemon juice. It was easy. @6 minutes. I did it at 2-minute intervals and watched it. As soon as it turned light brown, I put the pie plate in a roaster, poured the custard on top, then the boiling water and into the oven. Refrigerated it overnight and crossed fingers when I turned it onto a plate. It turned out great. Compliments from my card club.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2013
Easy, delicious Flan!!! Took it to a school diner event and everybody loved it. Followed recipe exactly, so good it's a keeper thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2013
This recipe was awesome! I had the picky eaters asking for seconds! I am not the most confident cook but I read many of the comments and followed suggestions and it was just great! I used 4 eggs instead of 3. I made the syrup in the microwave using the sugar, about 1/4 cup of water and a squeeze of lemon juice...and it was about 6 minutes before I saw it turn slightly brown, so I took it out and it continued to brown. I made the mixture of the other ingredients in the blender before doing the syrup in the microwave. I had the oven preheated with the flan dish in a water pan as suggested. Let it cool after cooking it and put it in the frig overnight... GREAT recipe! Made it soo easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2013
This Flan was the bomb. I made it for my mom for mother's day and I can't wait to eat it with my family. I would recommend using the water bath for sure! Just place your flan pan into a larger sized pan with some hot water into the larger pan with water that goes approximately half way up the sides of the flan pan. Also, I would definitely recommend making the caramel in the microwave. It's just lot easier. To do this, I put 1 cup of sugar and 1/4 cup of water into a glass pyrex bowl (but you could use any microwave safe container, glass is probably best though since it gets very hot. Then i mixed the sugar and water and microwaved the mixture for 2 minute increments. I think it took about 5 minutes in my microwave total. Keep an eye on it because you want it to be nice and light colored. Enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2013
Considering how simple this recipe is it comes out great! I added 6 tbsp of water to the sugar to make the caramel sauce but that was the only modification. This came out perfectly and I received wonderful praise from my coworkers at a potluck! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2013
Fantastic recipe.This is a keeper. I've made flans in the past, this recipe is exceptional. Easy fool proof and delicious. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
This was my first attempt at Flan, and it turned out great. Very easy. I had to read up on liquifying sugar, (swirl don't stir!) but beyond that it was super simple. Mixed the filling in a blender per another reviewers suggestion and allowed to cool for an hour before turning out. It was just okay warm as it tasted smokey almost burnt, something I've noticed when eating flan before. We refrigerated the leftovers and upon trying them the next day discovered that the smokey flavor had all but disappeared.. amazing! Try this one.. cold!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissMeredith

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I don't really like the taste of flan but I made it for my Spanish class earlier this year and everyone loved it! Melting the sugar was the hardest part for me, but apparently I'm doing it again since now my mom is wanting some. xD But I really liked making it; it was easy for the most part and people enjoyed it. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fufufuyen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 551) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States