Spanish Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
You don't need three eggs - you only need two. Sometimes even one will do, if it's large enough. The eggs are there to hold it together, nothing else. Either in the oven or on the stove, you need to set up a steam bath (double boiler) for it, to keep it moist and from cracking. It will set better. 30-45 minutes cooking is all you need - definitely not 60 minutes. Too much egg and overcooking will make it taste exactly like that - overcooked eggs instead of creamy flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Véronique Walker
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I made the exact recipe but doubled the amount for a party with a Mexican theme. It ended up being the only dessert. I did add cream cheese (8oz), which made it super awesome!!!!! I forgot to turn it over before serving, but that wasn't a problem, the whole thing was gone fast! Great recipe for my 1st time time making flan :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This was great; however, I made a few changes, so I don't know how the exact recipe would be. I added another egg and also 4 oz of cream cheese. Everybody loved it. Sugar takes a while to caramelize completely. Dont let the sugar burn. It should be an amber brown. If it turns dark brown, it's probably burned, which means it will be bitter. I made that mistake once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
My first time making flan and my husband loved it. He gave me the biggest compliment by saying it tasted like the one his Dominican mom used to make before she passed away. I reworked the recipe by using 4 eggs and I used the water bath when I baked the flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
It was my first time making flan, and it came out great! This recipe made it easy. To make sure that the mixture was perfectly smooth I beat it with my immersion blender. I made it the day before and put it in the fridge, the only difficulty I had was getting it out of the mold. But after some banging with a knife handle it finally unmolded perfectly. I think that happened because I used a 7inch mold but all the Caramel, so it was too thick on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The flavor was good but I couldn't get it out of the pan. Also, the foil stuck to the egg mixture and some of the top of the flan came off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cullman, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I Love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I've been using this recipe for about 4 years now! Never fails to impress. I always had to make 2 for my family, and have started making 3 now because of how much everyone loves it. The only thing I do differently is only add in half a tsp of vanilla (I found 1 tbsp to be too overpowering). I also bake in a water bath uncovered for an hour, and let it cool overnight in the fridge. Sometimes I'll add lemon juice to the sugar, and sometimes I forget. The lemon juice makes the sugar more liquidy and without any lumps. But the lumps always melt in the oven anyways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made this to take to a dinner with mostly mexican and spanish friends, every one loved it, even my daugher in-law . But I had added an extra can of the sweet milk and it still was every good . Now I'm making it to give as gifts to three of my fr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 589) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States