Spanish Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
The syrup burned on the bottom and got all crunchy. Followed recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I bake mine in a water bath. That's very important while cooking this dish, every hispanic mom/grandma will not bake it without it. Its a real deal. Also, I add 5-6 eggs and 1 tsp of vanilla extract and a splash of fresh milk. That's how my grandmother taught my mom...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2014
I made it exactly as it said, no changes whatsoever and it came out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2014
Perfect! Only thing I did different was to use the water bath as so many suggested. Sooooooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maria

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Whitehall, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2014
I've made this recipe at least 8 times and it's my absolutely favorite! :) Thank you :) & Smilezzz
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JSummer Breeze S

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
OK ladies I am new to the site and new to really experiment ting with cooking dishes outside my box. I joined a food club and my food choice to present was seafood paella. I had to pair it with something light since paella is so filling. A friend told me what to but I decided to research recipes and comments to see. I am proud to say my flan came out perfect and I've never tasted or even heard of flan. It was The recipe it simple I used as per my recommendation and some reviews I used 5 eggs, can of evaporated and can of sweet condensed. I mixed really well sat in fridge for about 20 minutes removed and whipped again just for good measure lol I used the warm bsthmrthkd I took a huge roasting pan and added boiled water I put the pan in the oven first then poured the water in it for safety measure. Since so many ppl complained about making the suagar mixed I opted out and I bought caramel topping. I layered the bottom of a 9in pie dish and placed in the warm bath I then added the mix and covered with foil. Baked for 60 min cracked the door and cooked for another 15 minutes removed cooled went around edge with knife so no stick refrigerated . when I presented I sliced piece on a plate that was decorated with a Lil drizzle of caramel garnished with dash of whip cream a strawberry and a few bkueberjries..very light dessert...sorry so lengthy but this was super easy and good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
Yummy flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Trachtenberg

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
It taste authentic like the one my mom use to make. My kids love it. The only down side is that everyone wants me to make it for even the tiniest gathering lol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Missi
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I used 5 eggs, as well as 2 tsp of cornstarch, blended everything. In hindsight will forego the cornstarch, as it came out a bit dense. I also baked in a water bath. it was my first time making this. Some caramel is still stuck on the dish, but most melted when I put the pie dish in a hot water bath before inverting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mississauga, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Needs more eggs (5 total) and let it bake for close to 90 minutes. I checked at 60 minutes and it was still liquid
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jacob Groves

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 614) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States