Spanish Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I made this to take to a dinner with mostly mexican and spanish friends, every one loved it, even my daugher in-law . But I had added an extra can of the sweet milk and it still was every good . Now I'm making it to give as gifts to three of my fr.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
This was my first time making flan. I did everything as stated in recipe.. Although I did beat the ingredients in blender as one reviewer mentioned, also warmed the baking dish prior to adding the Carmel and everything seemed fine... Not sure why it didn't come out creamy like a flan..it was more like spongey/scrambled egg like. :( the flavor was pretty yummy though... Not sure what I should do differently to achieve the smooth creamy texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
This was my first attempt to make flan, and it could not have been easier or turned out more perfect. I followed the instructions almost exactly but did take advice from other reviews. Here are the tips that worked for me: 1) I prepared my caramel in the microwave using the "wet" method by adding a 1/2 cup of water to the sugar in a pyrex measuring cup. It was ready in about 8 minutes on high, but did need to watched carefully. I started with 5 minutes and went up by 1-minute increments from there. I noticed that the caramel continued to darken after being removed from the microwave, literally while I was pouring it into my pan. I think another few seconds would have ruined it. 2) I poured and swirled my caramel in the pan immediately after removing from the microwave. This is crucial as it did harden very quickly. If there's any real skill involved in preparing this recipe correctly, this is it. 3) I prepared my custard in a blender so it was super smooth, and baked in a water bath rising halfway up the sides of my pan. 1 hour was not long enough for me as the custard was still completely liquid in the center. I ended up baking 20 minutes longer until the center was set but very jiggly. The results were amazing. I brought the flan to a party and other guests raved. The custard was silken and the caramel was molten and luscious. I wouldn't bother to try any other recipes. This is it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Pompano Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Helped a young teen make this for a Spanish class homework assignment. It was easy and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yummy Mummy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I added one extra egg and cooked in a water bath covered and it came out fabulous!!!! Will be making this often. So inexpensive to make at home. In the grocery store I've paid 5 bucks for a small container. Never will again!!! Thanks ASOTO
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This is the same recipe that I used to make. It is so easy and so good. Never had it to fail and even made it in the microwave a few times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by WandaConboy
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2013
Easy to make and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WandaConboy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Looks good. The recipe is simple. I probably would not use aluminum to cover it while baking. I would add more eggs to prevent any lumpy flán outcome. Overall it looks like a easy to follow recipe. 350 is the common baking temp but could be adjusted if need me. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lugofelix

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I took a bite and it was too sweet! I left the flan in the oven longer than the instructions said because I wasn't sure if it was done. The consistency was terrible. =[ It looked lumpy instead of the smooth texture I was looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I followed the directions to the letter (and I am a fairly accomplished cook. First I too was surprised it wasn't cooked in a water bath. Putting it together was quick and easy. I think 60 minutes of cooking is too long. Much of the caramel over flowed onto the bottom of my oven, burning and smoking. I let it cool as directed but it still wouldn't come out of the pan the next morning(I made it the night before and once it was cool I put it in the refrigerator). Even if I let it come to room temperature and ran a knife around the edges, it didn't come out. So I scooped it. It was way over cooked. The eggs were like curdled. Overly sweet - though that didn't bother me as much as the texture. It was not creamy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 560) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States