Spanish Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Photo by Jennmarie25
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
Great flan! I also kept the ramekins in the oven while I made the caramel so the melted sugar wouldn't harden too quickly. I made the melted sugar in the microwave (1/4 cup water and 3/4 cup sugar and 3 drops of lemon juice) for 6 minutes until golden. I used 4 eggs and added 1/4th tablespoon of almond extract to the custard portion as well. Lastly, I too placed the ramekins in a cake pan filled halfway with water. Baked for 1 hour uncovered. Turned out perfect! Makes 6 ramekins. UPDATE: Repeated this again as a healthier version with fat free evaporated milk and fat free condensed milk and only used 3 eggs as recipe called for and it was just as good as when I made it before!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennmarie25

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kathy Rodriguez
Reviewed: May 11, 2014
i wish it was a bit more creamy and also i think next time i would heat the carnation milk and temper the eggs before because it did have a slight egg taste that i hate. i also followed the advice of one of the review and did 1 1/4 cup of sugar with 1/2 cup of water and cover sugar while it cooked to make the caramel. was just ok but the family lied it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Rodriguez

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2014
so easy and yet so yummy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dra143all!

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2014
I loved this recipe! I had to make it for a Spanish project and I definitely will be making it again. I recommend keeping the pan warm in the oven because the melted sugar hardens very quickly so it is much easier to pour into a warm pan. I forgot to add the vanilla extract but you couldn't taste the difference. It was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gainesville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
This is the best flan I've ever had and it's very easy to make. I did adjust how to make the caramel and my technique is fool proof. In a sauce pan, I add 1/2 cup of water to 1 1/4 cups of sugar, and stir to saturate the sugar completely. Put the spoon away because you won't use it again. Next I cover the pan with a lid and turn the heat on to medium low. The steam created inside the covered pan prevents the sugar from crystallizing. There is no need to stir. Just leave the pot covered, checking periodically. When it is completely liquified and at a rolling boil, uncover and continue to cook until it has reached your desired color. Remove from heat a pour into your baking dish. It is the easiest way to make caramel, and you can't screw it up. Also, I use a mesh strainer and cheese cloth when I pour the custard into the baking dish to make the flan smooth and creamy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MakMack

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
For make the caramel is 1 cup sugar +1 cup water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This recipe completely failed for me. I'm an experienced baker and followed the recipe exactly, but the flan ended up with holes all through the bottom where the sugar had boiled up and was much too firm after 60 minutes of baking. I had to make a replacement dessert right before my party because this was not servable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
I cooked per instructions and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Forest Grove, Oregon, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I have been looking for a good flan recipe. Loved this! Tried another flan recipe from this site (baked flan) and it was too eggy. I used 3 egg yolks and only 2 of the whites for this recipe. This was so delicious. This will be made over and over. Found the perfect flan recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIDDYCAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe and I thought it was too sweet and I love sweets. My 11 year old little girl even thought it was too sweet. Reminded me of my grandma's corn pudding minus the corn and sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 579) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States