Spanish Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
I followed the recipe and I thought it was too sweet and I love sweets. My 11 year old little girl even thought it was too sweet. Reminded me of my grandma's corn pudding minus the corn and sweeter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2014
I added one extra egg for texture. Slow and patient with the caramel syrup. I also added about a tablespoon of water to the sugar for melting.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
You don't need three eggs - you only need two. Sometimes even one will do, if it's large enough. The eggs are there to hold it together, nothing else. Either in the oven or on the stove, you need to set up a steam bath (double boiler) for it, to keep it moist and from cracking. It will set better. 30-45 minutes cooking is all you need - definitely not 60 minutes. Too much egg and overcooking will make it taste exactly like that - overcooked eggs instead of creamy flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Véronique Walker
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2014
I made the exact recipe but doubled the amount for a party with a Mexican theme. It ended up being the only dessert. I did add cream cheese (8oz), which made it super awesome!!!!! I forgot to turn it over before serving, but that wasn't a problem, the whole thing was gone fast! Great recipe for my 1st time time making flan :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
This was great; however, I made a few changes, so I don't know how the exact recipe would be. I added another egg and also 4 oz of cream cheese. Everybody loved it. Sugar takes a while to caramelize completely. Dont let the sugar burn. It should be an amber brown. If it turns dark brown, it's probably burned, which means it will be bitter. I made that mistake once.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
My first time making flan and my husband loved it. He gave me the biggest compliment by saying it tasted like the one his Dominican mom used to make before she passed away. I reworked the recipe by using 4 eggs and I used the water bath when I baked the flan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
It was my first time making flan, and it came out great! This recipe made it easy. To make sure that the mixture was perfectly smooth I beat it with my immersion blender. I made it the day before and put it in the fridge, the only difficulty I had was getting it out of the mold. But after some banging with a knife handle it finally unmolded perfectly. I think that happened because I used a 7inch mold but all the Caramel, so it was too thick on the bottom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
The flavor was good but I couldn't get it out of the pan. Also, the foil stuck to the egg mixture and some of the top of the flan came off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Cullman, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I Love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Manteca, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 561) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States