Spanish Flan Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by BakeryGirl85
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2013
This recipe was soooooo easy!!!! Flan tasted amazing! I did this receive twice one with 4 oz of cream cheese and am extra egg, since I like more of a creamier cheese cake flan and it came out really good I also tried the recipe exactly , and it came out really good... It really doesn't need cream cheese it has that creamier texture already, but u can only notice it because the cream cheese one had a slight more creamier taste . Either one is good, i suggest everyone trying the recipe exactly first before modifying it. Also u must do the water bath when it cooks! And I used a glass oven safe cookware dish for the flan 9.5 fit perfect! Melter sugar in the microwave , came out great super easy added half a tablespoon of water ( no lemon juice) , came out good! Must try! When u take out the oven u must poke with a tooth pick (just like a cake) if it comes out clean its ready. In most cases 60 min is average but the other times I tried it was like 2 hours!!! I think it depends if u pour hot boiling water in the water bath or just regular water, that may take longer if u just pour cool water But the tooth pick method is the best way to tell when to take out And make sure ur glass dish is for oven use!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I never had flan before, so I don't have anything to base the after-product against, but it was delicious! The only thing I did differently was increase the eggs to 4 and use a water bath to bake it in. It was so simple and delicious. I didn't have problems with the caramel, but I have made dozens of batches for Christmas candy. It took me about 20 minutes to melt the dry sugar but once the sugar wasn't lumpy it was the perfect coppery-color you want. I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Too sweet; tastes like canned milk; texture isn't smooth enough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
I use only regular whole milk, eggs and sugar. This one is too sweet and almost sickening. If you like to add vanilla, that is up to you,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
I followed this recipe to a tee and it came out extremely bad. By no means am I a bad cook but for some reason it tastes burnt and the surgar did harden. Help!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2013
Recipe needs an adjustment to the vanilla! I suggest to use 1 TSP instead of 1 TBSP. All I taste is vanilla and I thought it was strange to add a whole tbsp, but the reviews convinced me to try it. With the adjustment I would give it 4-5 STARS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
Great flavor and very easy to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2013
Great simple recipe!! No need to look further
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
I never thought of flan as something that I could make myself. I would order it at a local resturaunt, which is awesome, but expensive. Overall, this is a good recipe and very, very easy! I did the water bath like other people suggested and the texture was wonderful (placing the smaller pan in a larger pan and pouring boiling hot water into the larger pan until it reaches the midpoint of the small pan to bake). I really do like this recipe, although I thought 1 tablespoon of vanilla was overkill. I think next time I will half it. Also, just a dash of cinnamon would be nice in the sauce. This is of course my personal preference. Also, it's really good with a little bit of real whipped cream (not cool whip) on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
I don't usually change a recipe the first time but from reading reviews I decided I would. I used the microwave to melt the sugar and added a half a cup of water. I let it go around 6 minutes, going 2 minutes the first 4 minutes and 1 minute at a time after that. I believe it was 6 minutes. I let it get a bit darker then golden and it was perfect. I put all the other ingredients in the blender (using 4 jumbo eggs) then put the pan in another pan of water in the oven. This turned out better then I had hoped. My husband said it was better then any restaurant Flan he has had and bragged about it for a couple days. I think this is my new favorite dessert recipe! So simple!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 594) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanish Flan

This creamy flan custard will become everyone's favorite dessert.

Baked Flan

See how to make a simple flan with a creamy, custardy texture.

How to Make Coconut Flan

See how to put a tropical twist on traditional flan.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States