Spanish Bar Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
This is exactly like hte Spanish Bar cake my Mom used to by at the local grocery store. So glad to have found it! I did ice itwith a combination of regular icing with a dollop or two of cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Markham, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
A&P used to sell this with cream-cheese frosting. I loved when our mother would bring it home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made this for my Spanish class fiesta... everybody was asking me for the recipe! I loved it, and so did anyone who ate it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
Excellent recipe!!! Easy to follow, and came out delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milo, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2009
I don't like spice cake, but this was an awesome recipe! My mom mentioned how much she loved Spanish Bar Cake, so I made this for her birthday. She said it was very close to the original (A&P) version. Used the Allspice Cream Cheese Icing from this site. Wow! REally added to it. I cut the water for the raisins down to 3 1/2 cups, added extra allspice (didn't have cinnamon), 1 1/2 cups walnuts and used self-rising flour. The result was a deliciously moist cake that I'm planning to take to my in-laws for Thanksgiving. Mom also suggested adding a can of apple pie filling to the bottom of the pan before adding the batter over top. Baked for 40-45 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2008
I made it just by this receipe and my family loved it. I iced it with cream cheese icing. It is a keeper. The next time I make it I will substitute 1 cup of sugar with 1 cup of brown sugar but it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gknight

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2007
I found this recipe very unsucessful to make. There is to much water and the cake is very soft inside I tried this recipe, twice with the same results , cooking longer each time.It is not the A & P cake of my childhod.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2007
This was good but tasted more along the lines of a spice cake than the spanish bar cake (store bought)that were use to but good and I would definately suggest you try...if you grew up with it as a family recipe than the store ones.Was worth the effort...thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
i made a half recipe as a birthday cake for my boyfriend, rounded off my spices & baked the cake in a 4"x8" loaf pan for 40 minutes because the spanish bar i grew up with was loaf (bar) shaped. i then trimmed away the bottom & side edges, cut the bar into 2 layers & iced it with the outstanding "allspice cream cheese frosting" from this website. the combination was a knock out! thanks for your recipe janice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LESLIE30

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2006
Pretty good, too many raisins though! I cut them back to a cup and a half and that seemed like a little too much. This is a good cake in general, very moist too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chrisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Four Egg Yellow Cake

See how to make a simple, fluffy, and moist yellow cake.

Pumpkin Cake III

This delicious, moist pumpkin spice cake is baked in a sheet pan.

How to Make a Robot Cake

Wow your sci-fi fan with a birthday cake that looks like a robot!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States