Spanikopita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Good recipe, but I have some revisions. I've been making this for years, and I highly recommend using fresh spinach. I also only use feta cheese, about 2 cups. I believe people starting using other cheeses is to keep costs down. The only other things I put into my mix are 2 eggs, which as other users have attested really makes a difference, and a bundle of chopped scallions. If you are in a hurry, or simply don't feel like making the traditional triangular pieces. you can cook in a 9X13 baking dish. The filo dough should fit without any cutting. Layer the dough, buttering between each. I do 20 layers, then filling, then 20 more, buttering between again. Baking time and temperature remain the same. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Ok, I've made this recipe about 5 times so far and it's been a hit every single time! I make it pretty much as written with one small adjustment. I add more garlic than it calls for, about 5 cloves, as pretty much everyone I serve them to loves garlic. The phyllo dough is, of course, a pain to work with, but the delicious, buttery reward is definitly worth the frustration you might feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexandrea.towns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
Soooo yummy. Made it with salted butter and fresh spinach (cooked it) because that's all we had. Salty, buttery, and crunchy - I'd make it again, even for my Greek relatives. None left!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Rome, Lazio, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
I used regular phyllo dough from the frozen section and two packages of fresh spinach (boiled down and drained). The recipe was delicious as is but next time I will try adding half of a cooked, chopped onion. I used to add onion to my Spanikopita recipe and it was delicous. Overall, very simple and a delicious side dish or appetizer!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2012
Tastes great, but I'm unable to do a decent job rolling out the dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Amazing. My Mom always finds making Spamikopita very tedious. She asked me for this recipe since it was so easy! I took them to a potluck and have no clue where they went!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amaturecook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
I couldn't find a spanakopita I really liked but this was great - I think it was the mozzarella and parmesan. The extra cheese gave it a well rounded flavor that even the kids enjoyed who don't really like spinach.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ewa Beach, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Delicious; does take some time to prepare though. I used frozen chopped creamed spinach and also added some bits of bacon to the mixture; bacon was cooked, drained and then added.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Koekje

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Savannah, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
These were unbelievable. I followed the recipe as written and the suggestions of other reviewers and added 2 large eggs and 1/4 tsp nutmeg to the mixture. It was my first time working with phyllo dough. Not the easiest thing in the world but definitely worth it. I agree with another reviewer who said the process is much easier with 2 people. Everyone loved these. I also just used garlic powder instead of minced garlic and left out the salt because feta is plenty salty on its own and the flavor was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2012
I used about double the amount of cheese, but these came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Parma Crisps

See how to make easy, crispy parmesan croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States