Spanikopita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 4, 2015
I threw in some ricotta as well. Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2015
It was really good! I ended up only needing 1/2 of the package of phyllo. Not sure why that is, maybe I stuffed them too full? Regardless, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kate Clancy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2015
Great recipe, my first time making spanikopita and a huge success! Delicious, easy to assemble and look fantastic to serve! The phyllo dough is a little tricky to work with, especially after you brush it with the butter but the results are more than worth the time and attention!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WEBANGEL14

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Latrobe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Irwin, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2015
Awesome recipe! The mixture for the filling is fantastic! Very tasty and not too salty or greasy. I used an easier method (see below) by using full phyllo sheets: Variation: Butter a 9 by 13 inch baking pan, and spread 6 sheets of filo, brushing each with butter, on the bottom. Spoon the spinach filling over the filo, then cover with 6 more sheets of filo, buttering each sheet. Score the top 3 sheets with a sharp knife. Bake 40 to 45 minutes, or until top is golden, let stand 15 minutes, then cut into squares and serve warm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
I LOVE this recipe! I added one egg to the filling, just like alot of people mentioned. I also cut the feta down a bit since my mother doesn't care for very salty foods. They are labor-intensive, but absolutely amazing! They even seem to stay crispy after re-heating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Katlyn Schreiner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Ermahgurd!!! Very good! I followed the recipe for the filling but I used puff pastry instead of phylo dough. Yum yum!! Reminds me of Isreali burekas...also yum. just sayin'
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristin Steele

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PixelRa
Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2014
This was amazing and easy. I did add an egg to the mixture as other suggested. I think it helped. I also did not fold them into rectangles but just rolled them like egg rolls. It was much easier and they still turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2014
I love this . MMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2013
Good recipe, but I have some revisions. I've been making this for years, and I highly recommend using fresh spinach. I also only use feta cheese, about 2 cups. I believe people starting using other cheeses is to keep costs down. The only other things I put into my mix are 2 eggs, which as other users have attested really makes a difference, and a bundle of chopped scallions. If you are in a hurry, or simply don't feel like making the traditional triangular pieces. you can cook in a 9X13 baking dish. The filo dough should fit without any cutting. Layer the dough, buttering between each. I do 20 layers, then filling, then 20 more, buttering between again. Baking time and temperature remain the same. Hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
Ok, I've made this recipe about 5 times so far and it's been a hit every single time! I make it pretty much as written with one small adjustment. I add more garlic than it calls for, about 5 cloves, as pretty much everyone I serve them to loves garlic. The phyllo dough is, of course, a pain to work with, but the delicious, buttery reward is definitly worth the frustration you might feel.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by alexandrea.towns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Parma Crisps

See how to make easy, crispy parmesan croutons.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States