Spanakopita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2014
Great recipe altho I did not care for the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2013
I only had 1 box of spinach, so I halved the recipe. I used mozzarella since I didn't have any Swiss, and pie crust since I didn't have phyllo, but kept everything else the same. This was so good! I imagine it's even better with the phyllo! Definitely making this recipe more often. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
Loved this recipe. Next time will use only half the phyllo dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2012
just love it! and i am suprised, cuz im not a fan of spinach :) but this is really great! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Liisukas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
I was nervous about trying spanakopita as I've never worked with phyllo dough. This was an amazing recipe and my family loved it. It baked up perfectly and was delicious. I added two additional eggs and a cup of ricotta cheese, but made no other changes. I had left over spinach mixture, which I used the next day to make baked ziti. I addition ricotta cheese to the mixture and layered it with ziti and canned spaghetti sauce and topped it all with mozzerella cheese and baked the entire thing. The original dish was amazing and so were the leftovers. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Michigan City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Tooele, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
I made this for Thanksgiving and it was SO good. Never worked with phyllo before or made spanakopita, although I've always loved it. The only thing I changed was that I used Gruyere cheese instead of swiss and only two boxes of frozen spinach. It was fantastic! I will be making this again for Christmas. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seastheday

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens Village, New York, USA
Living In: Southold, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2010
I usually bake half the batch and freeze the other half to bake later. These are even great cold (perfect for lunches on the go, school lunches, etc). This recipe is easy to tweak if you don't have all of the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PinkSpoons

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
Delicious! My family loved this, I will definitely make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2009
I used Fontina cheese instead of the Swiss. YUM YUM YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I made this for an office pot-luck, and it was a hit! I had a problem where my layers did not "stick" together, so the spanakopita got a little messy when serving. But it was so tasty, who cares??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RACHELWEEDEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Spinach Lasagna III

This hearty meatless lasagna is layered with cheese, fresh spinach, and sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States