Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2014
I follow this recipe as written. These are easy to make, they taste fantastic and the triangles look beautiful. I have tried them with light feta and the decreased sodium content does leave them a bit bland so I prefer using regular feta in this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by netka

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oshawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Oh. My. Stars. I made this just as the recipe directed, and I am in HEAVEN! I forgot to thaw my phyllo dough, so I zapped it for 30 seconds at 50% power in the microwave, which thawed it just enough. Don't be afraid of the phyllo dough! Do a quick search if you're unfamiliar with how to handle it, and you'll be fine! I did an extra layer of butter on the top of the dough before filling/folding (mostly because... butter). The only problem is the self-control I'm going to have to muster to save a few for my husband.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2014
I used. 2 boxes if spinach ,but only 1 box of phyllo. Excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
I did alter the recipe slightly. I combined this with a friend's scaled-down version of what he uses in his catering business. I added about 2 cups of thinly sliced crimini mushrooms, upped the feta to 16 ounces, crumbled (buy the block/chunk feta rather than buying pre-crumbled. It's more moist.) I also added two cloves of minced garlic and about 1 to 1-1/2 tsp dried rosemary (I prefer fresh, but my bush died.) The two tips I would offer are: DON'T CUT THE PHYLLO!!! It's so prone to tearing as-is, trying to cut it just aggravates this. Instead, I buter about 1/2 of the sheet, then fold it on top of itself lengthwise. It works out just the same as if you cut it in half, then layered it. On some of them I used just one sheet of phyllo (two layers) and on others, I layered one sheet on top of another, then folded it onto itself, for a total of 4 layers. (I added slightly more filling to these.) I still haven't been able to figure out which way I prefer it. I think with the larger layers & more filling. Another suggestion is to shape it into rolls, rather than triangles -- less fussing. Next batch, I freeze, to see how well they turn out! I can definitely see adding these to my entertaining collection.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2014
Excellent! Followed other reviewer's advice and layered in a lasagna pan, so good! Would not make any alterations to recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
Perfect - just as the recipe called for. Loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
I made these exactly to the recipe and they were awesome. So much so that none made it into the freezer for Christmas eve. I will be making another batch today. I will make one small change and add more feta, but that is just for our tastes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Limoges, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
This was absolutely awesome. I of course did thing differently but it was right on the money for a wonderful spanakopita. I did this in a 13x9 pan instead of individual portions. It layers wonderfully and cooks up like a dream. I would add more dill next time (I had to use dried and not fresh - and more would be fine). I added more cheese because that's just what we do in our family and I found that the feta cheese is a bit salty, so the original amount of cheese is fine. I hope I can find a lower salt feta so I can keep the cheese level up there. Fresh spinach is awesome in this - much better than frozen or canned or anything else. All in all, this is a great recipe to start from (or actually follow).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whittier, California, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Made in 9X13 casserole dish, baked 45 minutes at 350. Needs more spinach/less onion and 1/2 lemon juiced. Used 1/2 tsp dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This tasted delicious, but unfortunately, it took a very long time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 219) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States