Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
This is a great recipe, very reminiscent of what I ate in Greece. I only do two things differently - I add a tiny bit of lemon juice to the vegetable mixture and I also use fresh baby spinach because I think the frozen kind is gross. I made it in a jelly roll pan, spread thin with the phyllo and then cut into squares, it was thin and delicious. I only did it that way because I had doubled the recipe for a party and didn't have the time to make all the triangles. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
This was a perfect recipe. I recieived rave reviews. It is going to be one of my staple dinner recipes. Quick and simple. I used the quantities for 27 servings, but ...... layered in a 9x13 baking dish and baked for about 35 minutes. rather than butter, I sprayed the layers of phyllo with a cooking spray. this really cuts the calories and fat. this is better than our local Greek places serve. Don't remember when I added this review... But here we are 2014 and still loving this recipe. So does everyone who has it. Just finished throwing it in the oven, it took about 20 min to put it together. I have quit browning the onions and mix them in raw with the other ingredients. Can hardly wait to eat..... serving it with pork skewers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Summerland, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2011
great!! the dill makes the difference... I love the idea someone had about phyllo cups and will try next time. I did it as a casserole (the triangles daunted me). That worked out fine, but still fussing with phyllo is the hardest part of the recipe..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda Alston

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
ok... please don't anyone yell at me. i changed this recipe to be spanakopita my way, so maybe not really spanakopita anymore, but very yummy! sauteed some onions and added 2 boxes of frozen, squeezed dry spinach . seasoned with salt, pepper, and garlic powder. threw in grated cheese and 8oz of shredded mont-jack cheese. let the cheese melt. no eggs. filled mini phyllo shells and baked 10-12 minutes. beyond good!! spanakopita my way!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flushing, New York, USA
Living In: Seaford, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Bland :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JGo555
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2011
This is the best ever!!! I was craving these & usually I get the frozen store bought, but screw THAT from now on. The only thing I did different was use green onions since the recipe would be more authentic that way. I made them huge because they were all for me & I also used dried dill because I froze some & when I bake them the dill will become brighter. I've never worked feta before other than in this dish & now, I will eat &/or work with it without any problem. Mary, thank you for curing me of my fear of working with phyllo sheets. I had some left over from cooking these & I made dessert. This is the best, did I say that already?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGo555

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2011
This recipe was so good and so easy to do. The dill sets the flavor and mixes so well with the spinach and feta. Will be making these again and again. I will never need another Spanakopita recipe ever. Thanks Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
I have made thousands of these in a restaurant and eaten them in many other Greek restaurants. I used much less onion, (Maybe half of this at the most) and other than cooking the onion, there was no other cooking of the filling involved. And you can use about half of that oil or less. Just cook the onion (Don't Brown it) then add it to the rest of the ingredients. The frozen spinach is already cooked before it's packaged and the rest of the flavors meld together when it's cooked in the oven. Squeeze every last drop of water out of the spinach. Also, I would stack at least 2 layers of phyllo with butter before cutting it into strips. The extra layer or two helps the very delicate sheets hold together while folding and give even more layers of crunch. One stack of sheets would be cut into thirds lengthwise. Another tip is to clarify the butter. When you melt the butter the water separates from the oil. If you skim the butter off of the top or at least try to avoid dipping your brush into the water I find the triangles brown more evenly. I used to make 2 or 3 packages of phyllo dough into triangles a night so I got pretty good at working with the stuff. But I still find phyllo to be my least favorite ingredient I've ever worked with because of how bad it sticks sometimes. It helps to let it thaw slowly in the refrigerator but sometimes it just wants to stick together no matter what you do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
DEElicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2011
How interesting ... someone rated this recipe 4 stars ... didn't try the recipe and gave one of her own ... something is wrong with either this person or this picture ... it is a fab recipe ...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Dimas, California, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States