Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Exellent job Mary! This is the best recipe I've seen for authentic Greek Spanakopita :)! I agree with THELASTBARON 100% about not using other cheeses and most definitely NO cinnamon! I would like to add though that being Greek and being around my family who makes this all the time, we also add a bunch of green onion, this adds to the flavour and gives it the extra sweetness! Once again high five to Mary for a true Greek pita :)! Ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grkcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This recipe is AMAZING! I made it in a glass pan instead of making individual ones as one member suggested and it was so easy. I also used cooking spray instead of butter between layers to cut calories and this worked well too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LiljaMoon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
My guests really enjoyed this appetizer. The feta cheese is pretty salty so next time I'll omit adding any extra salt to the spinach mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Aldergrove, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This is a great recipe - and so authentic! It's my go-to recipe for parties and pot-lucks, and I never have any to take back home.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2011
I have been in love with the Spanakopita that a local place serves, and couldn't wait to try this recipe! So good!! Did make a few changes though. Used fresh spinach and sauteed it with one onion and a teaspoon of garlic. Added an extra container of feta cheese, and a handful of parmesan cheese. I omitted the extra salt and glad I did so because the feta is salty enough, and only used 2 eggs. Turned out perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Mayo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
This is my standard recipe that I go to every time I need an appetizer. The flavor in this is outstanding especially with some tzadziki sauce. (and yes, I know my spelling is off on that). Work fast with the phyllo. It will dry out faster than you think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
This recipie is sooo good! My whole family is always pleading for me to make more. I do change one thing and that is that I double the feta cheese. I found that when I didnt it was more spinach than I liked. It is really easy to make although it is very time consuming, although I think its worth every minute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
Thank you wonderful For the whole family
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elmont, New York, USA
Living In: Yonkers, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2011
I have never made anything like these before. Followed the recipe to the letter, it was much easier than I though and they tasted GREAT!! I can honestly say I have never eaten anything like this before either, but my husband and I LOVED them!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
Delicious! Quick tips: I used a pizza cutter to make the strips of phyllo. I only used one package of phyllo, which made 36 tarts. I only ended up using about a cup of butter. I made it just like the recipe says, but it would also be good with a little ricotta or some chopped artichoke hearts. This was a dry filling, not a creamy one, but it was very tasty. I am a fan! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Opal

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States