Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by cararox
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
These were wonderful! I prepared them (wrapped them up but didn't cook them) and stored them in the freezer. Took them out when we needed them and put them straight in the oven at 350 for an hour and they were perfect! This also makes it really convenient to choose how many you want to bake right then, and put the rest away for another day. One substitution I used was 1 tbs of dried dill instead of 2 tbs of fresh, but only because I didn't have any fresh on hand. A great vegetarian recipe, thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is a great recipe! Phyllo is easy to use - once you have done it. The flavor and the ingredients are great so even if the first ones don't look perfect they will taste good and the more you fold the easier it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2012
I used this recipe but used 6 oz feta, 6 oz swiss and 6 oz parmesean.... Absolutely wonderful!!. Increased the spinach to 3 pkgs.. If you have Phyllo dough that comes in about a 12 " sheet. just cut in in half and now you can use 1 (or 2) sheets per tablespoon of filling and it makes it easier to handle and faster. Just fold and brush with butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilmette, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2012
Fabulous recipe! I added a couple cloves of garlic and made them the night before I needed them, put them in the freezer overnight and thawed and baked the next day and they turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2012
I've made this dish multiple time over the past 2 or 3 years and my family loves it. It is a little time consuming putting the mix on the phyllo dough and folding it up but soooo worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gonnabacop

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hopewell, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
Just as good as the spana I get at my favourite greek restaurant! I layered it in a 9x13 pan as suggested by another user. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2012
This was the first time I've made Spanakopita. I found it a bit time consuming but once I got the hang of making them it went quicker. I love them!! I will make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Excellent. Added more feta cheese than this recipe called for though, and a tad more dill too. Season all salt instead of regular salt for more flavor. So easy to make and looks/tastes delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Phyllo pastry was not as difficult to work with as some reviewers made it to be. We definitely did not make 27 triangles, but perhaps we stuffed our triangles too full! Very filling and very delicious - 45 min was perfect, but waiting for them to cool enough to eat them was torture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2011
Exellent job Mary! This is the best recipe I've seen for authentic Greek Spanakopita :)! I agree with THELASTBARON 100% about not using other cheeses and most definitely NO cinnamon! I would like to add though that being Greek and being around my family who makes this all the time, we also add a bunch of green onion, this adds to the flavour and gives it the extra sweetness! Once again high five to Mary for a true Greek pita :)! Ty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by grkcook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 223) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States