Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Photo by MaryKayMommy
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My fiance is Greek and he makes an awesome Spanakopita. I was visiting my mom and wanted to try to make some decent Spanakopita without his help. I found this recipe and it is extremely similar to his. Very authentic. I made these for a party and they turned out EXCELLENT!! I added extra feta. I prefer my Spanakopita with extra cheese! =) Also, the only thing that this recipe is missing is the fresh garlic. It's a must for any good Spanakopita. Chop, slice, or press a few cloves of garlic and add to the onions when you saute them. It makes for a much better flavor. Greeks LOVE garlic! Swap the vegetable oil for olive oil. Much better. Make sure you squeeze the spinach as dry as you possibly can. Too much moisture can cause mushiness. Make these changes and this is an awesome, authentic recipe that would make any Greek proud! Thanks Mary!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryKayMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Made 30 for a fundraising dinner and it was snapped up instantly - everyone loved it. I am now going to make 50 for the next one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I gave this a 5 because it's so nearly perfect it'd be unfair to give it less, but there are a few things I do differently when I make spankopita: -I use fresh spinach (4 bunches, about 3lbs before I remove the stems, about 2lbs after) -I wilt spinach in olive oil, one bunch worth at a time, then set aside to cool while I do the rest. Once the spinach is cooled, I squeeze out all the remaining liquid and chop it fine. A tip I picked up online: Chop in about 1/3c cooked rice (I use brown) to absorb the moisture as it cooks, I do this instead of flour, you'll never know it's there. -Meanwhile, I sweat only about a cup of chopped onion (my preference) with a few minced cloves of garlic in a little bit of butter, and mix that into the spinach/rice. -I use about 2.5tsp dried dill (fresh is ridiculously expensive around here), and mix it (along with salt and pepper) into the eggs, to ensure it's as evenly distributed as possible when I mix it into the spinach. I adjust salt and pepper afterwards, if needed. -At the same time I mix in about 2tsp-1tbsp lemon juice to help cut the richness just a little, but if you can taste lemon, you've added too much. -I use clarified butter on the phyllo so there's less moisture, and it comes out flakier. But there have been times I haven't had any clarified butter around (it keeps for ages, so it's easy to store), and used regular. I'll admit the difference is probably only in my head.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was a great meal!!! I subed fresh spinach instead of frozen... And I also didn't have phyllo, so I used Marie Callenders pie crust... All I can say is Wow. We really enoyed this... ps I added some lemon juice to give it a bit more zest....Enjoyed the leftovers!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
These were very good- similar to those from a Middle Eastern restaraunt I used to work at. I added lemon juice to my spinach mixture and REALLY stuffed each triangle with the spinach. Consequently, I had leftover phyllo dough at the end of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2009
Great! First time using phyllo and it was a little challenging but well worth it. I used 2 eggs instead of 4, 1 large onion instead of 2, sauteed some garlic with it and included some parm cheese as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill B

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
These are restaurant-quality or better. Worth the effort. I read all the reviews and incorporated a lot of the tips given that I thought would work well for me in regard to the rolling and the flavor. I did the 1-sheet, fold-in-half, then fold into flags technique and I also did the egg-roll style with 1-sheet. I used butter flavored Pam spray. I also used only 2 eggs, added a bit of garlic, lemon juice and nutmeg. The filling just needs to be tweaked to your liking. That said.....LOVED THEM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
It was well received, but I thought it would be better with more feta. Good tasting as is though! I only had to cook mine for 25 minutes (in triangle form).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
I added a couple scoops of cottage cheese for a great addition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2009
Best ever. If I could give it more than five stars, I would.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States