Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
very good. only used 2 eggs after reading the reviews and used some more salt and olive oil and left the dill out b/c I didn't have any. I made a square pie versus the triangles to save some time on the prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
AMAZING! Fresh dill a must. I didn't make triangles - I just baked it in an 8 x 8 following other reviewers advice. I have made it without the dough as well - kind of like a spinach casserole. This was only because we were tight on our food budget otherwise definitely prefer the phyllo dough. It is not too difficult to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
Excellent recipe! Tried these for Thanksgiving and they were a hit. Perhaps it was because I was a novice, but 30 mins prep (as the recipe instructed) was way off. I spent almost 2 hours folding the phyllo. (That could have been because I like my triangles really bitesize.) But it was well worth it in the end and I will be making these again. They were delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
We made this for Thanksgiving yesterday and it was wonderful! Took the advice of a previous reviewer and replaced the flour with 1/3 cup brown rice medley (from TJs), used garlic and herb feta along with basic feta cheese. This is a time consuming recipe and I needed my husband to help assemble (to keep the phyllo dough covered yet make it quick enough so it wouldn't dry out). How do people do this by themselves? Great, great recipe and a treat for my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KARENVG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2009
tried this last night for my fiance as a surprise..he came from greece when he was 12 i've never done anything greek because i can't compete with the "real thing" well let me say he was really impressed! i am trying a few alterations at his suggestion the next time to reduce the greasiness (no egg) but otherwise it was great phyllo dough really hard to work with though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MaryKayMommy
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
My fiance is Greek and he makes an awesome Spanakopita. I was visiting my mom and wanted to try to make some decent Spanakopita without his help. I found this recipe and it is extremely similar to his. Very authentic. I made these for a party and they turned out EXCELLENT!! I added extra feta. I prefer my Spanakopita with extra cheese! =) Also, the only thing that this recipe is missing is the fresh garlic. It's a must for any good Spanakopita. Chop, slice, or press a few cloves of garlic and add to the onions when you saute them. It makes for a much better flavor. Greeks LOVE garlic! Swap the vegetable oil for olive oil. Much better. Make sure you squeeze the spinach as dry as you possibly can. Too much moisture can cause mushiness. Make these changes and this is an awesome, authentic recipe that would make any Greek proud! Thanks Mary!! =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryKayMommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Made 30 for a fundraising dinner and it was snapped up instantly - everyone loved it. I am now going to make 50 for the next one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
I gave this a 5 because it's so nearly perfect it'd be unfair to give it less, but there are a few things I do differently when I make spankopita: -I use fresh spinach (4 bunches, about 3lbs before I remove the stems, about 2lbs after) -I wilt spinach in olive oil, one bunch worth at a time, then set aside to cool while I do the rest. Once the spinach is cooled, I squeeze out all the remaining liquid and chop it fine. A tip I picked up online: Chop in about 1/3c cooked rice (I use brown) to absorb the moisture as it cooks, I do this instead of flour, you'll never know it's there. -Meanwhile, I sweat only about a cup of chopped onion (my preference) with a few minced cloves of garlic in a little bit of butter, and mix that into the spinach/rice. -I use about 2.5tsp dried dill (fresh is ridiculously expensive around here), and mix it (along with salt and pepper) into the eggs, to ensure it's as evenly distributed as possible when I mix it into the spinach. I adjust salt and pepper afterwards, if needed. -At the same time I mix in about 2tsp-1tbsp lemon juice to help cut the richness just a little, but if you can taste lemon, you've added too much. -I use clarified butter on the phyllo so there's less moisture, and it comes out flakier. But there have been times I haven't had any clarified butter around (it keeps for ages, so it's easy to store), and used regular. I'll admit the difference is probably only in my head.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
This was a great meal!!! I subed fresh spinach instead of frozen... And I also didn't have phyllo, so I used Marie Callenders pie crust... All I can say is Wow. We really enoyed this... ps I added some lemon juice to give it a bit more zest....Enjoyed the leftovers!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tricia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
These were very good- similar to those from a Middle Eastern restaraunt I used to work at. I added lemon juice to my spinach mixture and REALLY stuffed each triangle with the spinach. Consequently, I had leftover phyllo dough at the end of the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States