Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2001
This is authentic Spanakopita, as you would find in any Greek household or restaurant in Athens. The other two recipes o this site are very poor imitations and adulterated. True spanakopita has NO cinnamon in it and certainly has no Swiss or other cheeses in it. Feta and Parmesan, used as a subsitute here for the Greek equivalent, are always used, and dill is also a must for authentic flavor. Bravo, Mary Kessler, and thanks for not making this "Mary's version" - true classics don't require silly additions or "improvements."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
245 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Berlin-Neukoelln (Rixdorf), Berlin, Germany
Living In: Stowe, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
OOOOHHHHH, total taste sensation! I'm on a phyllo dough kick now that I've finally started using it. I did add some ricotta to cream it up a bit, cut the eggs back by two and skipped the flour. I made a couple of these for my lunch today and plan on using the rest for some appetizers tonight. Delicious Mary!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
This is the yummiest recipe. I did add a splash of lemon, 1/3 cup parmesan reggiano, and 1/2 cup pine nuts. Hint: To fold the dough into triangles: Cut the sheets into lengthwise strips of about 4 1/2 by 8 inches. Place a heaping tablespoon of spinach mixture in the center, and starting from the bottom, right-hand sid, fold flag-style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
82 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
Made if for Thanksgiving appetizers. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
This was a great recipe. My daughter who is 9 and son who is 5 loved it they kept sneaking it off the platter. My company all adults asked for the recipe. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I love the authenticity of the recipe, but not all of us have access to authentic ingredients. My grocery store had no phyllo so I had to use puff pastry. I cut the pastry into 3" squares and stretched the middle in order to get enough filling in, then folded them over and crimped the edges with a fork. Then I brushed the triangles with butter and sprinkled them with sesame seeds. In 45 minutes, they were beautifully browned flaky pastries, as delicious as they were pretty. People at the party I took them to asked me if I was a professional cook. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Really, really good and easy to make. I did find it a little bit dry though, next time I make this (and there WILL be a next time) I'll omit the flour. I also baked it for only 30 minutes instead of the recommended 45.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
Very tasty....Like another reviewer, I stumbled upon the ready made shells that are ready in about 8 minutes instead of 45...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This is an excellent recipe!!! I made these for a Oscar Awards party for an appetizer and the whole party couldn't stop talking about them. I made the spinach with feta spanakopitas and then I came up with my own recipe with meat. I bought lean ground beef from the store. I sauteed onions in vegetable oil and then added the ground beef. I then added one packet of Lipton Onion Soup to flavor the meat. I recommend this recipe to somebody that can by patient with the phyllo dough. It is worth all the work!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
absolutely delicious. made them for my bf's birthday party and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States