Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2001
Made if for Thanksgiving appetizers. Everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2003
OOOOHHHHH, total taste sensation! I'm on a phyllo dough kick now that I've finally started using it. I did add some ricotta to cream it up a bit, cut the eggs back by two and skipped the flour. I made a couple of these for my lunch today and plan on using the rest for some appetizers tonight. Delicious Mary!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2003
Really, really good and easy to make. I did find it a little bit dry though, next time I make this (and there WILL be a next time) I'll omit the flour. I also baked it for only 30 minutes instead of the recommended 45.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURASC

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2003
Very tasty....Like another reviewer, I stumbled upon the ready made shells that are ready in about 8 minutes instead of 45...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
This is an excellent recipe!!! I made these for a Oscar Awards party for an appetizer and the whole party couldn't stop talking about them. I made the spinach with feta spanakopitas and then I came up with my own recipe with meat. I bought lean ground beef from the store. I sauteed onions in vegetable oil and then added the ground beef. I then added one packet of Lipton Onion Soup to flavor the meat. I recommend this recipe to somebody that can by patient with the phyllo dough. It is worth all the work!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2001
This is authentic Spanakopita, as you would find in any Greek household or restaurant in Athens. The other two recipes o this site are very poor imitations and adulterated. True spanakopita has NO cinnamon in it and certainly has no Swiss or other cheeses in it. Feta and Parmesan, used as a subsitute here for the Greek equivalent, are always used, and dill is also a must for authentic flavor. Bravo, Mary Kessler, and thanks for not making this "Mary's version" - true classics don't require silly additions or "improvements."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
256 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Berlin-Neukoelln (Rixdorf), Berlin, Germany
Living In: Stowe, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2002
This was a great recipe. My daughter who is 9 and son who is 5 loved it they kept sneaking it off the platter. My company all adults asked for the recipe. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2002
I love the authenticity of the recipe, but not all of us have access to authentic ingredients. My grocery store had no phyllo so I had to use puff pastry. I cut the pastry into 3" squares and stretched the middle in order to get enough filling in, then folded them over and crimped the edges with a fork. Then I brushed the triangles with butter and sprinkled them with sesame seeds. In 45 minutes, they were beautifully browned flaky pastries, as delicious as they were pretty. People at the party I took them to asked me if I was a professional cook. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2002
This is the yummiest recipe. I did add a splash of lemon, 1/3 cup parmesan reggiano, and 1/2 cup pine nuts. Hint: To fold the dough into triangles: Cut the sheets into lengthwise strips of about 4 1/2 by 8 inches. Place a heaping tablespoon of spinach mixture in the center, and starting from the bottom, right-hand sid, fold flag-style.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
86 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2005
absolutely delicious. made them for my bf's birthday party and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oakville, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States