Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
My husband makes these for us frequently - and they are so delicious! We have this recipe bookmarked and they never last long at our house. A great lunch item. Props to the husband of the house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2010
MmmGood! what more can you say? This was a delightfully easy recipe. Just don't forget the egg! HAHA!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MmmGood

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
turned out great...whole family chowed down (even my 3 and 6 year olds)...only took 20 min in my oven
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Living In: Wakefield, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I made the easy/cheating version of this. I had a sheet of puff pastry that needed to be used so I mixed the filling, put it into a casserole dish, and layered the puff pastry on top. It was delicious. I cut the eggs in half because all I had were extra large and it just seemed like it might be too much. I used olive oil instead of vegetable oil and only used about a tablespoon because I do not like my food very greasy. Also, I used dried dill instead of fresh, though I'm sure fresh would make it even better. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
These were really time consuming, but in my opinion worth the effort. The only thing I would change is seasoning; I minced garlic and added it to the softened onions and continued to sautee' them until they started to brown 30-60 seconds. Don't be afraid to add the salt & pepper, because you'll need it. I used goats cheese instead of the feta and they turned out wonderfully. These were Sooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2010
Tidy, yummy, and very satisfying. I didn't have dill but it was still very delicious. I used some good quality feta and quite a bit of pepper. Can't wait to try it again with the fresh dill. Worth the effort! Best if you can get a helper for assembly, so the dough doesn't dry out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
This was a good recipe. 4 stars only becase I made changes. I used 2 eggs and NO oil, (I used only about a tablespoon to saute garlic/onion) No flour, I aslo added a 12 oz container of cottage cheese. Saute garlic & onion in olive oil. Mix into spinach (I squeeze dry in a paper towel). Beat eggs add Cottage cheese, mix add feta. Mix cheese mixture with spinach mixture. Use a rubber scraper to get onions mixed in well. start by brushing pan with melted butter, add a sheet of phyllo dough, build from there. Reserve about 6-8 sheets of dough for top. Slice on a diagonal about 1/2 way through, prior to baking. 40 mins should be perfect~
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sondra

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
This seems very authentic. But, it's not what I'm used to, so I didn't care for it very much. I didn't think it had enough cheese in it, and the phyllo was like eating parchment paper. If you were raised with this though, I'm sure it's wonderful. If you want to be adventurous, give it a try. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naryia

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I am part greek and though this recipe is similiar to my moms there are a few changes we would make; #1-change the veg oil for a better quality cold pressed olive oil.#2-as all Greeks know be sure to add plenty of sauteed garlic with one whole onion diced.#3-use fresh spinach that is wilted in the pan of sauteed onion/garlic. #4-omit the eggs.#5-when mixing ingrediants be sure to add 4-6 sprigs of fresh thyme.#6-my idea-mom hated it but instead of brushing on melted butter I spray butter flavoered Pam no-stick spray.This cuts out SOmany caleries and I prefer my Spanakopeda to not be greasy.#7-brush tops with stirred egg white and use egg-white to seal phyllo parcels.This is a good Base recipe kind of.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lv2ck

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
very good. only used 2 eggs after reading the reviews and used some more salt and olive oil and left the dill out b/c I didn't have any. I made a square pie versus the triangles to save some time on the prep.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JodyVTPT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 224) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States