Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
We love this recipe! I have traveled to Greece and this recipe tastes pretty authentic! Phyllo doesn't have to be intimidating. Just handle with gentle hands. If you use butter, lay sheets vertically and brush butter gently horizontally. A shortcut, which makes it less fattening and phyllo even easier to handle is spraying the sheets with butter flavored cooking spray. We've done it both ways and this spanakopita comes out great either way! My daughter is quite the picky eater and I don't know if it is because it is a fun shape or what, but getting her to eat spinach is worth the effort of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Much easier to make than we expected. Lots of fun to cook together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Made this today and it was so good. My daughter and I ate 6 of them. We are making and freezing them for Christmas but couldn't resist the temptation to try them. I used butter-flavored Pam Spray on half of one sheet lengthwise and then fold it lengthwise. then I fold the raw edge about half and inch. then I add the filling. I found doing it this way makes the triangle stronger and also gets rid of the flaking edges. I brushed the top with olive oil on some and butter on some. of course the buttered is better tasting. That's what I'm bringing to the party. Changes I made were to use two medium onions instead of large, based on reviews. I used only 2 eggs. Used 2 1/2 cups feta cheese. and I left out the dill bec we don't like dill. My greek coworker suggested next time that I add 4 green onions to the mixture. I'm sure I'll be making this again and will try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I changed a few things, I cooked some chopped chicken breast with olive oil onion and garlic and oregano. Put half the onion with some shallot and half grn onion and chives and black forest ham with the spinach and put blk pepper feta with one500lite cottage cheese with the eggs and fresh dill plus a tiny bit of fresh oregano. Even baby said it smelled good. a miracle. 8 or 9 layer melted butter and olive oil each then mixture then 8 more with lemon juice squeezed around top and edges. cooked 50 min 350 on parchment paper in ceramic dish.Make slits all over for steam to escape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ironchefamanda

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Spanakopita is one of my FAVORITE foods. This was by far the best recipe I found. It is a little time consuming and a little bit of work, but totally worth it! So if you are in the mood for some hands-on cooking and an extremely rewarding meal, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOHara87

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dexter, New York, USA
Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2010
this is the real deal folks....no parmesan, no (yikes) ricotta HELLO this is Greek cuisine, not italian. I have read of a bit of nutmeg in a Greek recipe book also, and bump up the dill (fresh is best) just a bit. I am making this for a party and I can't find my tried and true recipe...guess what- this is pretty close to the one a Greek restaurant owner gave me 20 years ago. Freeze the triangles on waxed paper and cook when you need to for a party, they come up beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
look very yummmy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ignazia Vella

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Pachino, Sicilia, Italy
Living In: Picton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
Yummy, I hadn't tasted this before making so I don't know how it compares, but it is delich... thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sillemap@gmail.com

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
Thank you for posting this recipe. It was amazing. I have made this recipe in different forms, as triangles and as pie. Did not change a thing it was perfect just as is. I will continue to make this for many more times to come. Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Om Shanti

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
A lot better and easier than I thought it would be. Thanks to the reviewer who outlined how to lay down the phyllo sheets in a dish (I opted to make this in a glass dish instead of making little triangles). It turned out flaky and delicious with a surprisingly tasty filling. I'd probably add a little more salt or maybe substitute a flavored feta (like garlic and herb) instead of using the plain. I also added about 2 tsp minced garlic to the onions. Used dried dill because I didn't have fresh on hand. Made half the recipe and this worked really well in an 8 x 8 inch dish. Thanks for this one - easy, tasty, impressive. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 225) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States