Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2011
Very easy, extremely tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2011
These were so much better than any frozen kind. It was a bit tedious to make since I had not used phyllo before but once I got all set up and started getting the hang of it, it went faster. Will make again and freeze half to have my own homemade spanakopita whenever I want! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
These were good. I followed the recipe to the letter. As others have stated, it is a little time consuming but worth it. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MILKLISSA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Laura
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Great without any changes! They re-heated very nicely the second day in the oven without getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Photo by CC♥'s2bake
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
These were delicious. This was the first time I had ever worked with phyllo and it was much simpler than I thought it would be. The pastry is delicate but very forgiving, and the directions for this recipe were well written and easy to follow. Simply lay plastic wrap over the sheets you are not working with and they stay moist and cooperative. This wasn't nearly as time consuming as I expected either. Once you get into a rhythm, the folding is fast. Tip; if you have no fresh dill, the conversion is 2 teaspoons dried dill. I used dried as I could not find fresh. Thanks for this great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
We love this recipe! I have traveled to Greece and this recipe tastes pretty authentic! Phyllo doesn't have to be intimidating. Just handle with gentle hands. If you use butter, lay sheets vertically and brush butter gently horizontally. A shortcut, which makes it less fattening and phyllo even easier to handle is spraying the sheets with butter flavored cooking spray. We've done it both ways and this spanakopita comes out great either way! My daughter is quite the picky eater and I don't know if it is because it is a fun shape or what, but getting her to eat spinach is worth the effort of this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Much easier to make than we expected. Lots of fun to cook together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Made this today and it was so good. My daughter and I ate 6 of them. We are making and freezing them for Christmas but couldn't resist the temptation to try them. I used butter-flavored Pam Spray on half of one sheet lengthwise and then fold it lengthwise. then I fold the raw edge about half and inch. then I add the filling. I found doing it this way makes the triangle stronger and also gets rid of the flaking edges. I brushed the top with olive oil on some and butter on some. of course the buttered is better tasting. That's what I'm bringing to the party. Changes I made were to use two medium onions instead of large, based on reviews. I used only 2 eggs. Used 2 1/2 cups feta cheese. and I left out the dill bec we don't like dill. My greek coworker suggested next time that I add 4 green onions to the mixture. I'm sure I'll be making this again and will try that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
I changed a few things, I cooked some chopped chicken breast with olive oil onion and garlic and oregano. Put half the onion with some shallot and half grn onion and chives and black forest ham with the spinach and put blk pepper feta with one500lite cottage cheese with the eggs and fresh dill plus a tiny bit of fresh oregano. Even baby said it smelled good. a miracle. 8 or 9 layer melted butter and olive oil each then mixture then 8 more with lemon juice squeezed around top and edges. cooked 50 min 350 on parchment paper in ceramic dish.Make slits all over for steam to escape.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ironchefamanda

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2010
Spanakopita is one of my FAVORITE foods. This was by far the best recipe I found. It is a little time consuming and a little bit of work, but totally worth it! So if you are in the mood for some hands-on cooking and an extremely rewarding meal, this is it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOHara87

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Dexter, New York, USA
Living In: Watertown, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 220) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Spinach Stuffed Chicken Breasts

Bacon-wrapped chicken breasts are stuffed with spinach and feta cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States