Spanakopita II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2013
Made in 9X13 casserole dish, baked 45 minutes at 350. Needs more spinach/less onion and 1/2 lemon juiced. Used 1/2 tsp dried dill.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ILovePotatoes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2013
This tasted delicious, but unfortunately, it took a very long time to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 2, 2013
Great recipe. This is definitely my go-to dish for pot lucks and parties. I always add a bit more dill, because I really like dill. I also make it in a big pan rather that individual servings. As long as you thoroughly coat both sides of each sheet of dough with butter it comes out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
Very yummy! I followed the recipe exactly and followed the advice of other posters adding one minced garlic clove and a good splash of lemon juice at the end. I didn't have enough frozen spinach but happened to have some frozen beet tops from my garden, so i used them! They turned out awesome! My husband even commented that he thought they weren't "overwhelmingly spinachy", I think I know what he means...haha! I will definitely make these again...with a mix of spinach/beet tops!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pipsy D

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2013
My family really liked this! Which is a complement because my family rarely likes anything that they haven't had a hundred times before. I would definitely recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NightStars

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
The spinach and feta stuffing is very tasty. I liked the dill undertones. I constructed this in a 9x13 baking dish using an 8 oz package of phyllo dough sheets. This seemed to save time, though the result was somewhat soggy (yet tasty). Next time, if I can set aside more time, I plan to try to make the triangles as recommended by the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crimson buckeye

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lewis Center, Ohio, USA
Living In: Westerville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
This recipe has become a staple. The freezer is no longer complete without a batch of it. I love having it ready for unexpected company, for a guaranteed hit at a potluck, or just a special dinner for the two of us. I make the pastries slightly larger. I take one sheet, put butter on half, fold over, cut in half, use a bit more filling. Ah, the thrill of having mastered the triangle! My sincere thanks for this. This recipe also helps to use the glut of frozen leafy garden greens. It works with swiss chard, or half chard and half kale. You may have to simmer a bit longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Living In: Nakusp, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
This recipe is fantastic! I was in a bit of a hurry and used the ready made Phyllo shells for a holiday party. The appetizer received rave reviews from everyone at the party. I made some small changes to the recipe. I only used 1 onion, omitted the flour and used 2 eggs. The fresh dill in the recipe makes the taste amazing. This will be a go-to appetizer in the future. Thank you for sharing, Mary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cararox
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
These were wonderful! I prepared them (wrapped them up but didn't cook them) and stored them in the freezer. Took them out when we needed them and put them straight in the oven at 350 for an hour and they were perfect! This also makes it really convenient to choose how many you want to bake right then, and put the rest away for another day. One substitution I used was 1 tbs of dried dill instead of 2 tbs of fresh, but only because I didn't have any fresh on hand. A great vegetarian recipe, thanks a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This is a great recipe! Phyllo is easy to use - once you have done it. The flavor and the ingredients are great so even if the first ones don't look perfect they will taste good and the more you fold the easier it gets.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 221) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spanakopita (Greek Spinach Pie)

Watch how to make this top-rated Greek spinach pie.

Homemade Spanakopita

Meet Jeanette, and learn the story of her family recipe for spanakopita.

Baked Brie with Caramelized Onions

Watch how to make a puff pastry wrapped cheese appetizer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States